We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the courtyard.....the rest was a bit jaded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 2 August 2013

one night stay for business (in room 20 - the room with no view). On arrival through the beautiful courtyard our hopes were high, but once we got inside the place feel faded and jaded. Lots of big pieces of old furniture and if that's 'your thing' then you'll fit in very well. The room was more of the same but they really should consider a blind to disguise the view (see photo). Pillows hard but the bed was ok on the comfort front. On the upside, all the staff were lovely - friendly and welcoming and full of useful information.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelashTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Prompted by very favourable feedback from my brother-in-law, I purchased a Livingsocial voucher for afternoon tea with 'Bubbly'. Yvonne and I spent the morning in Salisbury, her shopping and me doing anything other than shopping. Salisbury is a favourite place of mine to visit and I can walk around for hours, lovely places to sit for a coffee and read a paper.

The Red Lion is very central and easily found. The courtyard was a pleasant place to sit out of the very hot sunshine. We arrived at 1.55pm and had to wait 10 minutes before we were approached for our order, to be fair, it was busy. We stated that we had pre booked for afternoon tea. 10 minutes later, we were served two glasses of Bubbly, which was very pleasant.
25 minutes later, we were ready to eat the plates, we were that hungry, we were finally served finger sandwiches (3 each), small portions of quiche, two slices of cake each, a small glass of fresh fruit and two warm scones each, jam and clotted cream and a pot of tea which gave us two cups each. I must say that it was a lovely treat and the food was lovely!

Friendly service and great value for money, we throughly enjoyed our visit to the Red Lion!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Norman-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The reviews for this hotel were tricky and the pictures I saw were of floral patterned chintz (and I'm more into a modern contemporary hotel!). However I wasn't in charge of the hotel choice but in the end I'm very glad we stayed here. We got a lovely room, all dark reds and wooden beams, with a elegant bathroom (it was all a tad dated perhaps but it suited the hotel and I rather enjoyed it!).

We were there during a heatwave and was glad of the fan in the wardrobe to move air around the slightly stuffy room - it would be lovely in winter I think but still comfortable in the hot weather. The bed could have, been comfier (slightly dippy mattress and the bed sheets were VERY old fashioned) but despite my concerns I slept well anyway.

The staff I met (reception and barman) were simply excellent - so friendly and helpful! The convenience of the location was just great. The courtyard bar area was a ridiculously nice place to spend time.

Overall I would recommend this hotel - though, as others have said, if you want sleek, modern minimalism then you won't find it here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenIttels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I visited this hotel to use 2 living social vouchers one for lunch and then one for a champagne cream tea.
I had a baby and a 3 year old with me and we were made very welcome by the staff. The meal was very nice and we had a dish of chips for the 3 year old. I got the impression that this is a hotel wanting to show off their professionalism and each person we spoke to seemed genuinely interested in helping. Food was served fast and hot and I could not really fault it.

We went back for the champagne cream tea about 4 hours later and were greeted in similar manner by lovely professional staff. The cream tea was huge. 4 choices of sandwich fingers, Smoked Salmon, Cheese, Ham and mixed cheese, a small square of Quiche each, 5 different cakes PLUS 4 scones clotted cream and jam. A pot of tea and hot water and 2 glasses of Sparkling wine. Nothing to complain about again.

There must be better places so I have given this venue 4 out of 5 but I would recommend a visit to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkPrincess24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had stayed here before but not when it was summer! Just spent 3 nights there in June during a bit of warm weather. When I asked about the air-conditioning, the response was,"Of course Madame, the fan is in the closet." We were lucky and got by without air-con but if it is truly hot, then it might be a problem.

We were celebrating our anniversary and so got their Executive room with a photoed lovely bathroom! But oh dear, the floor was so slanted that (even without a drop of drink) upon entering I fell immediately crashing into another piece of furniture! They then moved us to an upgraded double with twin beds together. Parking is extra but waved it since we had to move rooms. The floor was okay in the next one but the mattress was not up to my husband's level of comfort nor mine but we had prepaid. There are many different sections to the hotel so it is hard to determine what is meant by their room descriptions.

They put a lot of emphasis on the quaint and historic look as you will also see in the lounges which do have that historic feeling and look as well.
The desk staff tried to be most helpful and friendly. I can imagine how difficult it must be to keep tourists happy in a very old hotel that is in constant need and with many quirks!!

The bar is quaint and the bartender, James, was most delightful and friendly. He really helped to cheer us up and took great care of us as we ate several meals there. The pork chop is very good! THe morning breakfast service was less so.

It has a lovely courtyard for tea or drinks in nice weather. It is a very interesting place for a visit but if you wish for a good night's sleep, have a bad back or neck, then you will want to inquire further.

Room Tip: No airconditioning and there are many different sections to the hotel so it is hard to determine wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utraveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed at very short notice in a single room 65 that needed to be freshened up. It was clean but the blanket and bed top looked like they were left over from the 70s. A little investment in a duvet and a mattress that's not supported by a gash piece of board would go a long way to justify the £100 per night tariff. Normally, I stay in gastro pubs/boutique hotels that do the small things much better at £20 less per night.
As an international traveller, this show cases what I see as average English hotels too often. Sad for such a historic building.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you want sleek brushed steel fittings and modern design, go elsewhere. If you want chintz, floral wallpaper and stacks of old people, come here.

The hotel is really more a collection of old rooms all connected together by a rambling series of corridors, festooned with clanking pipes and mysterious machines that whirr and bang at all hours. Views are mostly of...walls unless you're very lucky.

However, the staff are perfectly charming; the food is ok; and the beer expensive. The best part of this hotel is the interior courtyard - you must take tea here at least once if you can.

Finally - parking. What a faff. I reserved parking and then had to jump through interminable hoops to physically park up; too many cars and not enough spaces. Save yourself the hassle and use the pay and display just round the corner. It's very cheap.

In summary, not bad and certainly on par for Salisbury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoshNoshUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing