We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Shopping in Salisbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 8 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our first visit for many years. We used to be regulars. We bought lunch consisting of two baked potatoes. The charge was £13. The potatoes were small. They came with a light salad and coleslaw. The filling was minimal and tasteless. The whole represented terrible value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank fightingsultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked a last minute room at an excellent price. We stayed in room 22 - wonderful character and very spacious. The staff were a pleasure to interactive with. The bar is full of character as is the hotel. Won't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonestrolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Location is ideal as it is in the centre of the city. The room we stayed in was full of character which makes a lovely change from the modern. The facilities in the room were excellent, providing hair dryer, tea & coffee, & toiletries. You are able to read the history of the hotel which is very interesting. The cleanliness of the room also excellent. I cannot comment on the food as we were room only. I would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lizi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel was built in about 1260 as a hotel for the masons who built Salisbury Cathedral, and has been a hotel ever since, probably the longest continuous use of a hotel in the world. It has, however, been extensively modernised since! It was clean and comfortable, the food was good, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. It will appeal to those who prefer blankets to a duvet!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

my stay at the hotel was very plesent, Trudy the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. she gave 1st class service. Bedroom was very comfortable and ideal location. would stay again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Food was fine room fine location good but I have never slept on a harder bed. The room was warm the bathroom spacious. The courtyard was great for eating out on a mild evening. All was good until I got into bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timc4lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £87 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing