We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge(Salisbury)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
328
396
203
87
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
396
203
87
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe vinecar parkbeautiful courtyardafternoon teaold coaching innlovely old hotelhistoric hotellounge areasuperior roomlots of charactersconesfour poster bedold buildingcentre of towncentral locationbreakfast was excellentsalisbury cathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A little dated but it is a really old pub. We stayed 1 night and totally loved the town and hotel. Probably best to organize a car park in advance as it is limited. It is walking distance to cathedral and most of the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

What a pleasant surprise this was. We had booked for an overnight stay to visit Salisbury cathedral and we wished we could have stayed for longer. The hotel is charming with a delightful courtyard, our room was clean and comfortable and everything in it worked, not a given nowadays, we ate in the bar/lounge and felt that the food was on the high end of bar food standards. The staff are all welcoming, professional and friendly and our waitress was a delight. Overall we were satisfied with our stay and although the parking is very limited you are staying in the heart of Medieval Salisbury and it is not as though local parking is free!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillWalkerCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a work's Xmas meal in Salisbury so needed a place to stay the night. The Hotel was conveniently located. I parked in the nearby public car park (2 mins walk to hotel). Room was okay....decor was a bit outdated, but everything worked. Bed was comfy and the price matched the quality. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Returned this afternoon from a depressing lunchtime visit. My wife and I have been happily visiting the Red Lion for 10 years, usually with friends. Today's lunch for 4 of us, was a disaster on almost all fronts. Whitebait starters were miserable, a minuscule little pile of very tiny whitebait for £4 was a bad start. Then all 4 of us ordered Coronation Chicken filled jacket potato, and waited over an hour before it turned up with no explanation ! It was a good job the beer was good ?
I am afraid to make matters worse, the Coronation Chicken was dryish, as was the jacket potato. This is a very simple dish to prepare ! The response to a complaint was 4 glasses of free fizz.
No serious attempt was made to address these failings. So all in all they have lost some loyal customers and those that decide to give the Red Lion a miss after reading this. I also notice there are no management replies to any Trip Advisor negative reviews ... so they either don't care or they are unaware of these bad reviews. ... not a good sign ! So, sadly it's goodbye Red Lion

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SteepleAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed in room 33, the electric radiator was hanging off the wall, the TV was small compared to other hotels and was close to the floor and leaning to one side. The room was old in décor and not the usual standard I would expect from Best Western !!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews