We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel in the centre of Salisbury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in the centre of Salisbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I booked here last minute and saw it was a Best Western, so I thought 'that will do'. The location was e main thing as I needed to catch a train early the next morning. The room was very chintzy, flowery, will a huge bed and lovely bathroom. I liked it, it was like a vintage bedroom! Room 71. I went down for dinner at 7 and the guy who was also covering the reception was fab as I was first in the dinning room, a woman on my own. I asked for a glass f tap water and he bought me a jug of water with ice, lovely. I ordered salmon starter, turbot main, and baileys crime brûlée. What a menu! I don't know who the chef is but he is brilliant. One of the best dinners I have had in a long time, and I travel a lot and eat out a lot, here and Europe. He must be a Michelin chef! The service was brilliant and the staff were great. I had an early breakfast set on a tray for me for 6.20am by the night staff worker (who was also really nice and friendly). There was a log fire burning when I had my breakfast, I wanted to stay. My stay, although short was such an amazing surprise at how lovely it was, great staff, amazing food, and such a lovely relaxing atmosphere. If you go to salisbury, stay, you will be surprised, as it doesn't look much from the outside to be honest. Best not judge a book by its cover!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    355
    178
    70
    53
See reviews for
160
417
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

the only plus point of my stay was the first receptionist who smiled ...drinks from the bar difficult to get one barman running around all over the hotel ..tiresome.

This tired looking hotel is well in need of TLC
All the radiators were only luke warm not warming the building or my bedroom up particularly
..As i can only comment on Room 70.. the paint on the bathroom walls flaking off dirty grubby looking tiles and shower curtain, a shower built for people under 4 ft tall with little pressure so you have to chase it to the wall.
uncomfortable bed ..only realised fully when, i caught bed the BED SPRING that was poking out of the mattress from a 15mm hole ( half inch ) that was clearly not new by the witness wear marks and stains..,the only stroke of luck at 03:00 in the morning was it was a twin room so i swapped to the other cold bed after removing the covers for other potential hazards.
breakfast began well as the cereals were made by a famous company , the continental breakfast was made by an amateur ,the poached eggs on toast were the most tasteless i have ever had with the toast totally soggy .... im still waiting for the coffee to arrive after asking numerous times again served by amateurs.
when i then checked out and began to recall my terrible stay the astonished receptionist who couldn't believe this could happen but offered no real apology only when pressed did she remove my drinks from the bill as no manager was available for further discussion surprise surprise i left with the foresight NEVER TO STAY HERE EVER AGAIN

Room Tip: The White Hart nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room we stayed in was very comfortably with delightful historical details. particularly liked the panels revealing the daub and wattle walls of this old and historic inn. The carved wooden head board was also very impressive. The room and bathroom were in good condition and the housekeeping was spot on. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which was very quiet at night. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast selection was good and the scrambled egg and salmon particularly good. The full English breakfast was good apart from the sausage which had an unusual texture.

The courtyard was also a nice quiet oasis and would be lovely in the summer. We would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which was very quiet and loved the historical detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Red Lion in Salisbury was a great place to stay. A very nice room with helpful staff and good pub food, as well as a good breakfast in the Restaurant. The location was very convenient to the Cathedral and to the bus stops. The Red Lion retains its old building charm with new amenities. We would like to stay another time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olton,Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband, two teenage children and me, spent a half term weekend at the hotel. The service was excellent, food delicious and worth the expense. The hotel was picturesque, being a very old building it was well maintained and clean. Over all I would recommend a visit to anyone who wants a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The room was fine, comfy bed, the bathroom very nice size. All clean, no real faults. More of an older person's hotel..Location very central. Staff were friendly but to be honest, not very efficient. We chose it because of the price, but if I could find a similar hotel for under £10 a night extra, I wouldnt stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank catwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

No car parking available unless pre booked which was not exlained at the time of booking, evening meal was expensive, there was an alarm test which lasted for an hour (unacceptable when you are trying to work) no internet access due to fault

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Best Western
Salisbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing