We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Salisbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heart of Salisbury”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was visiting Salisbury on business at the beginning of March. What I liked about the hotel was its charm. It is a quirky grouping of buildings that date back to somewhere around the 13th century. This is not your cookie cutter, modern hotel. The lady who checked us in was very nice, however the bar and cafe staff seemed less than pleased whenever my group of colleagues and I met in the public areas (there were 7-10 of us, and I guess we could get a little noisy). I liked the coffee/tea facilities in the room. I hate hotels that think that warming water through a coffee machine is adequate for making tea. Here at the Red Lion, they provided a kettle and both a tea pot and a french press, so that you didn't have tea flavoured coffee or vice versa. What didn't I like? I had a twin room, and the mattresses on both beds were old and sad, they sagged and left me with a sore back. The water pressure for the shower head was almost non-existant. It was bearly enough to wash the soap from my hair.

Room Tip: I'd suggest asking to see the room first. If you are facing the inner area then it should be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy_sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    362
    184
    75
    53
See reviews for
169
434
46
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Arriving at the address as per the sat nav the car park was around the rear of the hotel which meant having to trail the cases through road works some 600 hundred metres. An entrance at the rear would have improved first impressions. The booking in and stay was easy being a rewards club member I got an upgrade to a pleasant and clean room. Breakfast was pleasant in the conservatory. The check out was easy and at this stage I was shown how to reduce the baggage trail by going though the small underground car park. Looking on the outside I could see no signs that indicated this was available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

It's an okay hotel. Feels very classic which is not really my bag... Could do with modernisation.

A few nice touches- some nice mini cakes in the room but the little things like a poorly hung TV in the bedroom ruins it.

Food was pretty meh. Over flavoured for the gnocchi and too dry for the terrine . Cheese cake was great however.

Service and staff are fine bit overall a fussy feel about the place that meant it lacked any ambiance or vibe.

Clean overall.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

No parking, receptionist with no ideas, shower boiling hot trickle or boiling hot trickle, bulb hanging out in bathroom. Need I go on. Haven't even gone to bed yet and might not but for what I've paid for this I need to get something out if it. Will never use best western again. I travel the country with Luton town every season and this is the worst hotel I've ever used

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didley1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Red Lion between 21 and 23 February. It proved to be a real treat. The hotel is reputedly the oldest hotel in England. The staff on reception were all friendly and very helpful. Our room, though lacking a view was most comfortable, spacious and clean. The bar felt less like a hotel bar and more like a comfortable local. The Red Lion is within a few minutes walk from the Cathedral and historic core of Salisbury. Whilst there is little space to park at the hotel, there were car parks within a couple of minutes walk. The Red Lion looked and felt like a hotel in an ancient town should, comfortable, welcoming, a little worn here and there but a welcome and cheerful place to return after a day exploring the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWare_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a lovely afternoon tea at the Red Lion. Wonderful characterful place. Thought the lounge area was reminiscent of an old 'Smoking Club' and I also liked the bright interior conservatory area and the dining room. Tea consisted of a selection of sandwiches, scones, brioche and croissants with butter, jam and cream, plus a selection of biscuits, tarts and cakes. To drink, a choice of tea or coffee and mulled wine and Prosecco. Very pleasant and unhurried way to spend a good part of the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing