We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    367
    190
    77
    55
See reviews for
172
444
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good quality hotel providing an excellent breakfast, best I have had in recent times. Parking at the hotel is limited and charged at a fairly high rate however public parking is scarce and costly in Salisbury

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I made a reservation to stay at the Red Lion because of its one of the oldest places for lodging in England. It had lots of charm in terms of its age and some of the woodwork. The issue that I had with it was that the rooms were a little old in terms of decor. It was also extremely noisy. Trash pickup took place at 6 am right outside my window. There was also some construction ongoing with the workers arriving at 5:30 am. Being an American with a body clock set back 4 hours, this was very bothersome. I think that the hotel would be well served by being aware of noise around the hotel in the early hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH, ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Afternoon tea here was disappointing. Not the worst I have experienced but a long long way from the best. Good choice of tea and served in good sized pots. Sandwiches ok but not plentiful.
Scones, jam & clotted cream were also ok but nothing to write home about. Butter served up in rock hard small silver paper wrapped rectangles.
The sweet selection of cakes were awful. Slices of poor quality sponge cake with butter cream filling you do not serve on a quality afternoon tea. There was a triangle of what was trying to pass as a chocolate cake but failed. A wafer thin shortcake each, the size of a fifty pence piece completed the offering.
There was no offer of a refill of tea and I had to track down a waiter to ask.
There will not be another visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVIDSMITH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent a birthday weekend here for the second time and everything was great again. Six of us stayed and the rooms were all good and quiet at night. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was lovely although a few vegetables would have made it even better. The hotel is well placed to look around the shops and bars and there is a market close by on saturday. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We picked up a good deal on line and were all happy with the value for money. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank TREVOR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A hotel with history and a great location in the centre of Salisbury. The rooms are varied as you can see from the website- we upgraded to a superior with Elizabethan style brocaded furnishings and decent space.The breakfasts were freshly cooked to order, and good quality produce. Friendly service and good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min88258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was visiting Salisbury on business at the beginning of March. What I liked about the hotel was its charm. It is a quirky grouping of buildings that date back to somewhere around the 13th century. This is not your cookie cutter, modern hotel. The lady who checked us in was very nice, however the bar and cafe staff seemed less than pleased whenever my group of colleagues and I met in the public areas (there were 7-10 of us, and I guess we could get a little noisy). I liked the coffee/tea facilities in the room. I hate hotels that think that warming water through a coffee machine is adequate for making tea. Here at the Red Lion, they provided a kettle and both a tea pot and a french press, so that you didn't have tea flavoured coffee or vice versa. What didn't I like? I had a twin room, and the mattresses on both beds were old and sad, they sagged and left me with a sore back. The water pressure for the shower head was almost non-existant. It was bearly enough to wash the soap from my hair.

Room Tip: I'd suggest asking to see the room first. If you are facing the inner area then it should be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy_sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing