We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reccomended for a nice hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 17 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having eaten at the Red Lion on a previous occasion on a visit to Salisbury and had reasonable food, we decided to give them another go on this quiet Bank Holiday.
We both chose the Ploughman's lunch - one ham one cheese.
Both 'Ploughman's' contained:
Half a pickled onion
Half a tomato
Half a gherkin
Three thin slices of a small apple ( a micrometer must have been used )
One Supermarket or wholesaler doughy micro roll.
A couple of teaspoons of pickle and coleslaw.
And a few leaves

The Ham Ploughman's contained 2 thin , small and wet ham.
The cheese Ploughman's contained one very small wedge of Medium maturity cheddar.

When the 2 Offerings were delivered to our table - and without tasting the rolls - my partner asked for more bread. This came in the shape of 2 more wholesaler rolls. Had we tried the bread first, we would not have asked for more.

When we were asked ( as is the way with all restaurants who do not want a negative reply) 'is your food OK?' My partner pointed out our dissatisfaction with the Poor Value. We were offered more of the poor quality cheese. Not to make the same mistake as asking for more bread and getting the same small piece of dough, we declined the offer of another slice of Medium wholesaler cheese. She was sorry though.

When I paid the bill - £9.00 each for this shoddy offer - plus drinks, there was no further recognition of our complaint.

We will not be going back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nine women ranging in age from late twenties to mid fifties, out for bank holiday Sunday drinks. We arrived at 1pm, decided to sit in the courtyard for drinks and food. Having been given food menus relatively quickly we then struggled to get anything ordered. Finally ordered, food was quite good, just burgers etc and Prosecco. To get the next lot of drinks two of us had to go into the hotel and ask for someone to come out, it took at least 40 minutes to get more bottles of Prosecco and they brought two not three as asked with no explanation. By late afternoon we tried to order more Prosecco to be told they had run out and we could have champagne for the same price, fair enough but at 7.30 pm we were then told they had no more champagne either except Bollinger which they could not discount. We were all shocked that a relatively large hotel should have so little supply over a bank holiday weekend. Not impressed we moved on. We will not be returning as the service all afternoon was painfully slow, there were loads of people working reception but not serving drinks and food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SueHandleymerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Having read a few different reviews its obvious the hotel dont seem to. I have stayed a few times on business and every time a lone bar person seems to do all food and drinks so cant be in the right place all the time. Food is average i havent had a bad meal but there is nothing of note either. Decor is old fashioned, some would say out dated but generally it is in good shape clean and presentable. I think it is a place you either love or hate. If you like modern then this wont be the place for you. If you like something traditional and old fashioned then you wont be dissapointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank rhubarb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had one of the executive four posters on the inside of the hotel. Nice room and fairly quiet although I was woken up by the distant noise of revellers in the street at 3:45am. Being in the middle of the town I doubt there is anything the hotel can do about that. The main problem with the room was that it was too hot even with the radiator turned off. We left the windows wide open and it was a bit better on the second night. Those are the negatives. The positives far outweigh them. Great location for the town. One minute walk from the tourist information office. Tremendous character and history to the hotel. And above all the superb food, both at breakfast and dinner. If you like pork, try the duo of pork. It was simply delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOPO41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After travelling all day we arrived at the Red Lion after nine in the evening, tired, hungry and without a reservation. Our bar meals were both somewhat disappointing, both in terms of quality and service. However, to be fair, breakfast the next morning was exceptionally good on both counts. Our room was not luxurious, but it was comfortable and more than acceptable. However, when washing your hair take care not to bang your elbow on the ceramic soap holder in the shower. It is mounted in a ridiculous position and hurt like hell. All things told, and considering the very reasonable price, I'd definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable town centre hotel that is good value for money. Maybe eat out though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savvy_Customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Andybakes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £88 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing