We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is apparently the oldest running hotel in England! This shows in the old buildings and rooms. Our room was on the top floor and wasn't air conditioned, the weather outside was warm but not hot (23 degrees celcius) yet the room was stifling and the windows did not open. However, that was my only criticism. The room was enormous, clean, beds comfortable, staff helpful and prices reasonable. The location could not be better and the outside courtyard and bar area is just lovely. Full of character. Wifi does not reach top level, be aware of this if you wish to use it in your room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice hotel with excellent staff but outragous charge for room service. Breakfast was very good and would stay again but eat before i arrived . The setting is very good and easy to find. Room was confortable and has a really good sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Feltonval
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked the Red Lion, because of its location to the city center and were not disappointed. The queen double room was charming with a fireplace (non-working) and writing desk alcove. The bath had a large cast iron tub with shower. A new mattress and bed linens need to be purchased, but were adequate for a one night stay. We were told on booking, that there were a few guest parking places. However, if they existed, we were never told of them. There is a public pay and park behind the hotel, but that system required causes one to have to return to the lot to make certain that the window stub is still valid. We were told by the desk that the city is very careful in checking for expired cars.

We ate an evening meal in the bar of fish and chips and it was attractively plated and delicious, all washed down with a few pints and a carafe of wine among us. It was an enjoyable place to end a busy day.

Breakfast was lovely and served by a very nice waiter with an excellent manner, so often missing in these times. However after breakfast, the morning and check-out went haywire. Returning to our room, we found that none of the toilets on our hallway were flushing, there was no hot water in any of the rooms and the fire alarm was ringing. With that commotion, we brought out luggage down the long staircase and found that the printer was out-of-order at the desk, so no receipt. The staff seemed overwhelmed and befuddled by the circumstances.

All that said, I would stay at the Red Lion again and would recommend it...it has its quirks, but if we wanted home, we would never travel and the Red Lion's location allowed us to take long morning and afternoon walks through the city. We were in Salisbury in 1978 and it was lovely to visit it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j68ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

II do not usually put negative reviews up, but unfortunately feel that in this instance I have no choice but to warn others. Firstly the one positive, a pleasant meal in the restaurant with very nice, helpful restaurant staff, from there on in it went rapidly downhill. This is an old hotel and the corridors are very maze like, which you accept as part of the course, however our room was right out on the edge in a corner with two other rooms. We heard no one in either of these rooms so we can only assume that we were the only people staying in this part of the hotel. There was we noted a very strong smell of paint in the whole area. When we went back to our room that evening we were hit by the noise from outside. We checked to make sure the window was shut as it was so loud we might as well have been stood in the street. My friend laid on her bed and the bed was actually vibrating from the thumping noise. The bed I had was so uncomfortable that I had to lay on top of the quilt to prevent the lumps and bumps digging into me. After about 15min I had had enough and phoned down to reception. The noise was so loud the night porter could hear it clearly over the phone. He said although he sympathised with us he did not have any other rooms we could move to but he did have some earplugs. A single pair of earplugs was duly bought up to the two of us with an apology and the suggestion that we put our complaint in writing to the hotel. I get the impression this is a regular occurrence. After about another 1/2hr, when we were actually considering just going and sitting in the bar for the night, the porter phoned back to say he had found us another twin room but it did not have a working shower, at this point all we cared about was trying to get some sleep. So, this meant at 1230 we were wandering the corridors in our pyjamas being taken to another room to sleep. Thankfully this room was quiet and we were able to get a few hours sleep. However, this meant that in the morning we were in one room and our belongings were in another. So at 730 in the morning (before everyone else was up so we would not be seen) we were wandering the corridors yet again in our pyjamas trying to find the original room so we could shower and get dressed. When we went down to breakfast we were met outside our room by a very surprised decorator who assumed we must be lost as he thought that area of the hotel was empty as they were redecorating it all....hence the smell of paint. We duly complained to the duty manager who was aware of the situation. He, I must say, was very pleasant, he mentioned that there was a nightclub under our room which explains why my friends bed felt as though it was vibrating, he agreed to wipe our drinks bill from the previous evening but could not do anything about the room cost itself. We had made the mistake of paying up front for the room on arrival....a lesson learnt I must say. He took all our information and said he would pass it to the manager on the Monday. I myself was not in contact with the manager, my friend who booked the room was. The long and short of it is that the manager today said that he could not understand what we were complaining about, there was not much noise and anyway it was out of his hands and nothing to do with the hotel itself, he likened it to a car alarm going off. He said as far as he was concerned there was nothing wrong with the beds as they had been checked by an independent company recently and no one else had complained. The noise was nothing to do with the nightclub but was the fault of the pub across the road. The porter had gone out of his way to sort the situation in moving us to the room with the broken shower and that was the end of the matter. Needless to say we will not be staying in, or recommending this hotel in the future. However if you do stay here over a weekend, and you get offered room 31, unless you are planning on partying yourself until 3 in the morning I would ask to be moved before you go to bed.

Room Tip: Beware nightclub and pub at front of the hotel means it is impossible to sleep in these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouBBLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank jo-dave-josh-kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Indifferent service, badly trained staff, characterless restaurant! Very disappointing! We were the only people in the restaurant. We had been told that a large function was happening that lunchtime in fact it wasn't happening til the evening. That's lazy!
Food disappointing and overall a tired building, with tired service and just........tired!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJohnson139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
784 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £71 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing