We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/04/21
ZenHotels.com
US$95
View deal
PricelineUS$103
Hotels.comUS$103
eDreamsUS$103
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,342)
Filter reviews
1,342 results
Traveller rating
425
467
257
111
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
425
467
257
111
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine car park lovely courtyard afternoon tea olde worlde historic hotel pay and display old coaching inn lots of character old building centre of town central location stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent full english seamstress lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 1,342 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

The Red Lion was built for the draughtsmen of the cathedral in 1220. What a lovely place to stay. Rooms are very comfortable and modern in contrast to the old fashioned feel of the hotel. Staff were fantastic, Wi-Fi worked very well, breakfast was magic, best scrambled eggs I have had which I haven't cooked myself. Facilties in the room were great - ironing board, iron, tea & coffee, fan, shampoo, bottled water, tv, great beds and heating easily controllable. Brilliant, beautiful, friendly and right in the middle of the city.

Room tip: Get a loyalty card
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Beachgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Beachgod,

From all of us at the Red Lion, we would like to extend our appreciation for not only staying with us, but your warm review of our hotel. I do hope you will come back and visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Excellent hotel. The parking is a bit tricky but I found a car park just behind the hotel which worked for me. The TV was not working but I was so tired I didn’t really need it. Internet was good. Bed was a bit hard

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Philcooper1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Philcooper1000,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review for our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I am happy to report the fault with the television's reception has been rectified. I would recommend our White Bear Suite with its four poster bed for a spacious room and a soft mattress if you would have the opportunity to visit us again.
Thank you once again.

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Four of us stayed for 2 nights on a special deal and reserved a slot in the small car park. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - they would have kept the bar open all night for us if we had wished. The en-suite rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfasts in the lovely restaurant were very good. Dinner was excellent: simply the best sirloin steaks that any of us had tasted in years. Overall the hotel is welcoming and full of character. We loved it!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear David H,

Please accept my personal thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Red Lion in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel balances reasonable price and good quality.
I stayed here for one night as a base for attending a function going on nearby.

Couldn't fault at all, the rooms was a good size and in perfect working order. Staff were friendly.

Would be my choice of hotel if I was staying in Salisbury again.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank df86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear df86,

Thank you for your review of the Red Lion. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Red Lion whether as a base for a future function or simply to visit this scenic area.

Kind regards,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Car park for 3 cars??? However City car park down the road. Reception very friendly and helpful. Decor and rooms dated authentic! Lighting in rooms set to dim! Water pressure poor, toilets that fail to flush.
Breakfast rubber eggs?? At 0700 been under heat to long at the start of breakfast
Could be much better !

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank 387raymondh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Raymond H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Red Lion. I would like to extend my apologies that we did not fully meet your expectations during your visit with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews