We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
372
423
223
93
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
423
223
93
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine beautiful courtyard car park afternoon tea lovely old hotel historic hotel pay and display limited parking lounge area superior room lots of character scones four poster bed old building centre of town central location market square
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

From the moment you walk in to the courtyard you know you’re in for something different. This hotel has masses of genuine olde worlde charm. There are lots of real old timbers on show throughout the hotel, including in my room and uneven floors. My room (21) was large, comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was very good. There is limited parking but the safe multi storey is free after 3.00 and all day on Sunday.
My only real criticism is with the bar staff who were surly and more interested in chatting amongst themselves rather than serving customers. They didn’t even have a pen between three of them to sign the bill!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank nauntongolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We booked the Seamstress suite at the red lion as it was in a great location in the centre of Salisbury, although we didn't get a parking space we found Culver street car park nearby which was free from 3pm and all of Sunday which was really helpful.
The courtyard is very pretty and upon entering the hotel you can tell that this is an old building, through the maze-like corridors to get to the rooms. We were greeted by pleasant staff who helped us check in, along with another member of staff who kindly showed us to the suite.
After getting through the corridors, we were greeted by plush stairs leading up to the Seamstress suite, upon opening the door we were astounded, this is luxury! Extremely clean and ready for our stay!
A beautiful bathtub in the centre of the room along with lovely surroundings as well as a beautiful en-suite. We couldn't believe our luck in finding this gem! Our suite looked out over the courtyard, which was great for people watching the wedding party that were at the hotel at the time!
The bed was very comfortable and we both slept very well. No noise problems considering it's location and the party as we were well tucked away.
After our stay we really didn't want to leave! But the £160 we paid for the stay was well worth the money and we will definitely be looking to return in the future (to the same suite we might add)
Thank you for making our 1st year together celebration so special. We thoroughly enjoyed your suite and could not fault it in any way! Service with a smile as all staff were very friendly.

Room tip: If you can stretch your money, the Seamstress Suite is well worth it
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank matthewwX7719TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Positives first.
Beautiful Courtyard
Excellent Food in the lounge and really good breakfast with plenty of choices
Very clean and well appointed room

Negatives

Was not worth the cost of well over £100 a night to stay.
Location, we have never before stayed at such a noisy hotel, it is right in city centre surrounded by pubs , night clubs and two busy roads, our room 81 overlooked one of the roads, it had double glazing but the noise was unbearable, we were kept awake until 3am, with screeching, shouting and “boy racers” zooming up and down.

No aircon , the room was so hot and with old radiator system clanging. we could not turn the radiators off or the heated towel rail so forced to open the windows added to the noise and also pigeons!

Parking, hotel has just 6 spaces at £20 I requested one through booking .com, was allocated then after confirming booking got an email message saying sorry they were all already booked. the carpark next to hotel is only 3 hours so was forced to leave the car in dodgy looking multi-storey overnight. we have concluded that parking in Salisbury is a nightmare, leave the car at home and take the train is the best advice we could give.

Service, hotel was really busy with several functions including a wedding, there was no where near enough staff to serve so long waits at bar and for food.
Not the hotels fault but what little we saw of Salisbury, it is not the quaint, historical , upmarket city we were expecting. A lot of run down boarded up buildings, lots of shops closed and more pigeons than London!

If we happen to need to go to Salisbury again we may revisit this hotel just to eat but would not stay overnight again

Room tip: in our opinion it was far to noisy , we would not recommend this hotel
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank molliemoosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

This was a birthday present from my wife. We had no worries about the recent nerve agent attack. (Trust the press to blow the whole thing out of proportion!!) The hotel was brilliant. Staff helpful, we had booked a car parking slot at the hotel, we arrived early and could not find any space in the the city carparks, parking was free for the time being as a result of the attack. The receptionist very kindly let us in to the hotel park three hours early. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Our night was slightly disturbed by machinery outside our window. Food was superb. Rarely have I had lamb so beautifully cooked and presented.Our waiter was very cheerfull and attentive. Breakfast? Suffice to say it was the only meal of the day. We would certainly recommend The Red Lion to our friends.

Room tip: Thi is a city centre hotel but windows are double glazed and traffic noise is minimal. No views but loads of history.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sillyoldfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Sillyoldfool,

I would like to extend my gratitude for your kind review. I am very glad you had an enjoyable stay and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We have just spent two nights with friends in Salisbury and booked this hotel. Room 19 is very olde world and comfy. We had a Travelzoo deal and had a three course meal on night one ... lovely food indeed and good service. Breakfast very good - self service, but happy to take an order for something a tad different if required. Will definitely return, as lovely hotel and welcoming city too.
Do visit the Cathedral and the surrounding area, it is stunning. We also did Stonehenge on this trip

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Ruth H,

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed room 19 and do hope you will have the opportunity to come back and explore some of our other feature rooms and hidden gems both our hotel and the area has to offer.

Sincerely,

William Weis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews