We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$119
Hotels.comUS$119
Expedia.comUS$119
eDreamsUS$119
TravelocityUS$119
Orbitz.comUS$119
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,342)
Filter reviews
1,342 results
Traveller rating
425
467
257
111
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
425
467
257
111
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine car park lovely courtyard afternoon tea olde worlde pay and display old coaching inn historic building lots of character centre of town central location stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent full english seamstress lounge fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 1,342 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Delightful meal at the Restaurant. Wonderful selection as we were bored with traditional pub food. Magic outdoor garden setting. Service was excellent. Great management. Recommend you eat and drink here.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mcleankerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Mcleankerry,

Please accept our thanks for your review of our establishment. I do hope you will stop by again in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

From the exterior the Red Lion is understated, but once you walk through the cobblestoned archway into the courtyard you are transported into a different world. Its picturesque and welcoming. Sat in the courtyard having a few drinks, and you could literally be anywhere. the staff are friendly and helpful, we arrived early so left our bags in the foyer, and they were placed in our room when we returned, an unexpected, nice touch, but the things that make a good stay, even better. The room was huge, and very modern despite the hotel having a 12th century exterior, it was exceptionally clean, spacious and comfortable. The location is also superb, walkout turn left and then right and you are in the City square, and abundance of shops, cafe's and pubs. There is limited parking, however, there is a big multi-storey car park about 150yds down the street. Brilliant hotel and highly recommended. We have already booked our next stay!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank WayneHansford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in the centre and does therefore suffer with noise at night. There was a disco until 3am somewhere close to our room. There is also road noise. Having said that the rooms are above average in size and well appointed. Bar and lounge area are good with a lovely courtyard. Food is ok.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank GrahamJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

A family birthday necessitated an overnight in Salibury, and the Red Lion looked the best option. Through no fault of the hotel, its situated on a one way system which means the sat nav has a bit of trouble finding it, so we ended up parking in the local Pay and Display and walking to check in.

Check in is a bit old fashioned - a small desk, lots of wood panelling and the most hideous old clock I've seen for a long while, but it was efficient and the staff were helpful. Having already paid for overnight parking reception drew us a map to get our car to the car park entrance. The car park is very small, and the spaces are extremly tight. If you are an anxious parker and/or dont have parking sensors I'd suggest you park eslewhere.

Despite the hotel boasting that its Europe's oldest purpose built hotel, and the approach to reception is through a rather nice old fashioned courtyard, our room was in a modern annex. Inside there were a few nods to historic architecture (wooden beams etc) but it lacked any real charachter, and the furninshings were distinctly modern. The rooms were perfectly clean and adequate.The bathroom was large there was a supporting column in an odd place which made it feel a bit cramped. Otherwise it was a but a bit basic and could do with a re-grout.

Although the room was located on the main road noise wasn't too bad, the bed was comfortable enough and although it was warm day it wasn't excessively hot. Tea and coffee making facilities were good, and there's bottled water which is always a bonus.

I didn't eat breakfast - although the restaurant looks like it is going down the fine dining route so I expect it would be good quallity, charging over a £10 for breakfast is taking the mick, and theres plenty of choice nearby.

All in all a nice enough hotel, but nothing outstanding.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a rather special group reunion which the hotel team coped with admirably.

Dinner was an interesting mix of classics like belly pork and novel such as bonefish cheek scampi. All very acceptable.

Lovely, clean and well appointed rooms, and breakfast was good enough to cure 'the morning after the night record's.

Ideally situated for central attractions.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank foodieboy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews