We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$100
View Deal
Free cancellation until 14/03/21
Expedia.com
US$100
View Deal
Free cancellation until 14/03/21
ZenHotels.com
US$94
View Deal
eDreamsUS$100
Hotels.comUS$100
Trip.comUS$99
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
422
467
257
110
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
422
467
257
110
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine car park lovely courtyard afternoon tea olde worlde historic hotel pay and display old coaching inn lots of character old building centre of town central location stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent full english seamstress lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on business and I found the hotel great. The room was accessed across the courtyard which was fine although the corridor did smell a little damp. They obviously know about this as air freshener had been sprayed when I next entered it.

The breakfast sadly let the place down though..... the coffee was weak and the food had obviously been kept warm in the Bain Marie for quite some time.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dame2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Room 22. Lovely spacious room with a fab old fireplace and wonky floors. Cafetiere was a welcome addition. 1 pack of biscuits between 2 guests a bit tight! All great but let down by tired bathroom with its peeling vinyl flooring and butterfly tiles. The toilet flush was particularly violent. Ate in the bar. Beef and chicken burgers. Both good and really tasty triple cooked chips. Bar prices are reasonable with a good choice of drinks available. The younger staff - Harry, Alex and Kylie deserve a mention. Thank you to all 3 for their customer service and conversation.
A generator kicked in around 6 am, possibly from kitchen. I was already awake, so not a great problem. Possibly not heard with windows closed. Felt awkward/uncomfortable at breakfast as weren't on the list. Grumpy woman went to check that we were on b&b rate. We were. Breakfast wasn't great and we didn't bother on 2nd morning. Sausages were tough and cheap and the egg option was grey and scrambled. Good selection of cereal and preserves though.
The courtyard area is a treat offering plenty of sunny and shady areas.
The Red Lion is in an excellent central location. The £15 per night parking spaces are a bit tight but more convenient than negotiating the surrounding carparks.
We would definitely stay again and recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tammymaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We had a very large room, which was a period style, within the Hotel. It was beautiful, with four poster bed. Bathroom was also extremely nice. The evening meal and the breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly and efficient. We had a lovely evening and would always choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

... ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a good night's sleep. We were in Room 49 and there was a lot of noise from revellers in the street until the early hours. There was also a strange noise coming periodically from the water system which was not conducive to a good night's sleep. That aside the staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The breakfast is buffet style with a good choice which suits everyone whether you like a small breakfast like me or a larger breakfast like my husband!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sara1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

when we arrived late on the evening there was a lot of noise at the pub nearby and also in the courtyard but by 11 pm all was quiet and with the very comfortable bed we had a great nights sleep.
Room had plenty of space and Breakfast was good quality and plenty of choice.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank skr204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews