We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$130
View deal
Expedia.comUS$130
PricelineUS$130
Hotels.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$130
Trip.comUS$130
CheapTicketsUS$130
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveller rating
439
481
266
124
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
439
481
266
124
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine car park lovely courtyard afternoon tea olde worlde pay and display old coaching inn historic building lots of character centre of town stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent seamstress lounge fireplace century maze
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

My daughter, husband and I arrived on a rainy Sunday night, after four hours of driving, because we had early morning tickets for Stonehenge. The family room we had reserved was fine — one huge problem though was that a window latch was busted, which meant the window couldn’t shut fully and was always slightly ajar. We were worried because of the blustery rain and because the window was right over the bed. We discussed this with Hazel, at reception, and in the end, she contacted the off-duty house manager, Stuart, who moved us to the only other room in the hotel that could accommodate three people: the Seamstress Suite, aka the Loft or the Honeymoon Suite. Again, it was the only room left in the hotel that was big enough for a fold-out couch for our daughter. Anyway, this was a lovely solution to the problem — huge kudos and thanks to Hazel and Stuart. The staff go out of their way to help!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 33,333,333,333,344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

All staff wonderful, very large high quality superior room, great nights sleep, excellent range of quality breakfast foods. Lovely very old hotel lots of character. Will look forward to returning here. Special thanks to Dawn on reception.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ZoeO0379
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

This hotel maintains the original decor and feel of an old English Inn. This is not your typical Best Western. The room was well appointed and the staff very responsive. I hope we can stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 20jackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on business and I found the hotel great. The room was accessed across the courtyard which was fine although the corridor did smell a little damp. They obviously know about this as air freshener had been sprayed when I next entered it.

The breakfast sadly let the place down though..... the coffee was weak and the food had obviously been kept warm in the Bain Marie for quite some time.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dame2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Room 22. Lovely spacious room with a fab old fireplace and wonky floors. Cafetiere was a welcome addition. 1 pack of biscuits between 2 guests a bit tight! All great but let down by tired bathroom with its peeling vinyl flooring and butterfly tiles. The toilet flush was particularly violent. Ate in the bar. Beef and chicken burgers. Both good and really tasty triple cooked chips. Bar prices are reasonable with a good choice of drinks available. The younger staff - Harry, Alex and Kylie deserve a mention. Thank you to all 3 for their customer service and conversation.
A generator kicked in around 6 am, possibly from kitchen. I was already awake, so not a great problem. Possibly not heard with windows closed. Felt awkward/uncomfortable at breakfast as weren't on the list. Grumpy woman went to check that we were on b&b rate. We were. Breakfast wasn't great and we didn't bother on 2nd morning. Sausages were tough and cheap and the egg option was grey and scrambled. Good selection of cereal and preserves though.
The courtyard area is a treat offering plenty of sunny and shady areas.
The Red Lion is in an excellent central location. The £15 per night parking spaces are a bit tight but more convenient than negotiating the surrounding carparks.
We would definitely stay again and recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank TeeeMareee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews