We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,173 results
Traveller rating
366
420
221
93
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
420
221
93
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the vine beautiful courtyard car park afternoon tea lovely old hotel pay and display historic hotel lounge area superior room lots of character scones four poster bed old building centre of town central location market square breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,173 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here Xmas eve and Xmas day food shocking all thrown on a plate like school dinners room and staff nice but we were disturbed at night by next door guests having a party spoke to reception who eventually dealt with it by asking them to leave this ruined our stay

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fairylove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am very much upset and appalled by the way my family and friends were treated at one of your hotels. We went to visit them as they were visiting the Salisbury area and stayed in one of your hotels. We decided to stay for dinner and spend some time with them. We spoke to a member of staff and was told that we could not stay for dinner, only those staying in the hotel could attend the evening dinner in the restaurant. I thought this was kind of weird as this has never happened before in a Best Western or any hotel we have visited. We then proceeded to go and look for food outside of the hotel on Christmas day. Upon leaving we saw a sign on the wall outside saying the restaurant was open to non-residents as well. After looking around outside we decided to go and ask again as nothing was open around the area. Another employer then mentioned "OK, I guess we can let you eat here". We ended up paying 22.50 per person (pounds) which mounted up to 90.00 pounds for our family. As we went to get our food the selection on the buffet was awful!! The food was cold, bland, tough, and tasted like it was re-heated. I will never go to this hotel again. We were not the only ones complaining over the food and selection. We then were invited up to the their room for coffee as it was only 8.00 pm. Within a short time we received a phone call from the receptionist saying we needed to leave because we were too noisy. What!! We were just speaking to one another in normal voices. Upon ending the phone call we decided to put on our coats and say goodbye to our friends. During this time we had a knock on the hotel door and upon opening it a boy about 21, 22 years old told us to leave. He had an angry demeanor and was moving back and forth. My husband told him to calm down as we were leaving and had never been treated like this before at any Best Western. He said well, this is an old hotel and visitors were not allowed to have guests in the rooms. What!!! I have never heard anything like this before. We are members of Best Westerns and have visited many around the world and never been treated this way. The young man was unprofessional, arrogant, immature and should definitely not be in the position of customer service, or Management and neither should the receptionist. He and the receptionist escorted me and my family out of the hotel and told us to complain online. Ridiculous and embarrassing treatment by immature, hotel staff, I will never stay at this or any Best Western Hotel again. The need to be removed as employees immediately!!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lydia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic customer care from the start of the booking from Radina, For the amount of people that attended the food was satisfactory, small bar with no Ale. Venue room very tight with no room to move, brightly lit with no atmosphere. Shame that the disco was in adjoining room.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SalisburyWilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly & enjoyable stay. Room 75 excellent value for money & extremely comfortable. Bed king size excellent to sleep in also tv large & displayed on the wall giving more room on tables. Bathroom had a bath with shower water high pressure & correct temperature not too hot just right!! Very clean & tidy all round. Food delicious Breakfast buffet fabulous excellent choice of food continental & cooked! Staff friendly & accommodating especially Dawn, offering help carrying my luggage on arrival to the room & showing me around as got lost on a couple of occasions !! Like a maze inside trying to find your room on first visit!! Shops just outside not far to walk to the Cathedral & other amenities. Very limited on car parking spaces however, not to far to park in local carparks !!

Room tip: Could not find fault excellant all round service
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 212juliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a group we meet every month for coffee at the Red Lion. It is a relaxed setting with excellent coffee competitively priced. This year the group decided to have our annual lunch there. Booking was easy as was the format for giving them our pre-booked choices.
Friendly and attentive staff served our meal in the wonderful setting of the main dining room. Food was of excellent quality. The soup was a little glutinous but tasted fine as did the roast turkey and trimmings though being an avid vegetable eater I could have done with a wider choice of vegetables. Desserts were good and the complimentary mince pies were excellent. Drinks reasonably priced particularly if you compare with other establishments in the centre of town. In previous years we have had our lunch elsewhere paid more, not always at the same level of service and quality.
My only gripe is having to pay upfront. A deposit I do not mind if the food had not been up to standard you have little sanction. Not a problem however on this occasion and the consensus amongst the group was that we would return next year.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darkewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews