We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly hotel, lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
1 review
“Cosy and friendly hotel, lovely views”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A cosy hotel with old-fashioned style, yet modern comfort. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely view of the old city and Cathedral across the river and water meadows.
A 20 minute walk to the city centre via one of two pleasant and picturesque routes (via the cathedral or the water meadows).
All in all, a comfortable and relaxing place to stay, at an affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtomicShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    165
    98
    62
    41
See reviews for
113
254
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Good location for walking into Salisbury Town Centre (10mins).Lovely views of the cathedral from the hotel.Nice rooms if not a bit tired but friendly staff and good breakfast.Ample free parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK81Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale N, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thank you for your complimentary comments on our great location, only 10 minutes walk to the Cathedral and the city, I shall pass on your views to the team at Grasmere House, they really do appreciate complimentary comments like yours. You will be pleased to know that we have a continuous and ongoing refurbishment programme for our hotel, to keep us up to date. We are very fortunate with the size of our free carpark. Once again many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House again sometime in the future. Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We booked the Grasmere Hotel well in advance for a local wedding. When we arrived we were told that four of our party of ten could not stay because two rooms had no water, the hotel claimed to have left messages on a mobile days before, but when the booking was confirmed over the phone the day before and that morning there was no mention of this.

As a result they had decided to reserve two rooms at another hotel 10 miles away. When these new arrangements did not suit one couple in our group, who decided to stay with family instead, the duty manager tried to charge us the cancellation fee for the other hotel. The duty manager was extremely unhelpful and our entire party had our entire party had to stand around arguing for half an hour until he finally called his manager, who finally saw reason, and paid for the rooms that we used (see EmVan comments).

For those of use who were "lucky" enough to be able to pay £120 to stay at the Grasmere, we had a tatty hotel that hadn't seen a lick of paint since the 1980's, very poor service, not very clean, uncomfortable beds and a motorway service station breakfast. I was quite excited to find an apricot coloured jacuzzi bath in my bathroom, but it didn't work.....

The only positive thing I can mention view, which was very nice, as long as you were on the right side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if it is unavoidable, get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

When we arrived to check in we were told that 2 out of 5 rooms we had booked were not available. They had reserved 2 rooms at another hotel 10 miles away! We had confirmed the booking twice both the day before and that morning and no mention was made that 2 rooms had been rebooked. When these new arrangements did not suit one couple in our group, who decided to stay with family instead, the duty manager tried to charge us the cancellation fee for the other hotel. His attitude towards us was argumentative, his story kept changing and when we asked to speak to his manager he tried to stall us until we refused to leave the reception area. He eventually backed down and we just paid for the rooms we had used. Overall we found the customer service extremely poor and the hotel certainly does not represent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Nice location. Great lawn by the small river at the rear. Good view of Salisbury Cathedral spire from rear facing rooms. A bit depressing inside. Needs a refurbishment. Downstairs lounge has become a storage area, so we sat next to several unused high chairs in a gloomy corner. Upstairs - beds a bit hard, carpet a bit old. Food: Breakfast wasn't special. No fresh fruit but lots of packets. General impression - a bit worn out. Pricey for the standard offered.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. Sometimes with the help of web sites like this, you can get a bit more. This is not the case at the Grasmere.
The hotel is in a good location to visit Salisbury. The grounds are nice. The food at dinner and breakfast was pretty good. The rooms were a good size.
However, the hotel is really tired. The beds are well past there sell by date. We had sheets with holes in & drinking glasses that were cracked. The level of service from the staff left a lot to be desired. A few P&Qs would not go a miss and the management clearly does not set high expectations on their staff. This is my 9th hotel I have stayed in this year. I know a good deal when I see it and the prices this place is charging for a room is not good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The hotel is a older building, so you must forgive some of its shortfalls. But the things you cannot buy, like beautiful river setting, and easy walk to the very busy Cathedral and so many museums it great. We had a discounted room, on the ground floor, with double doors to the garden, and we watched the black sheep and cattle in the fields. Not a house in sight! Where else can you get this in a busy city? Even the stroll to the Cathedral was magic, passing so many medival homes and buildings. I feel the staff do the best they can in difficult conditions (the reception area is so small. We found the bacon and eggs for breakfast were cooked ideally as we like it, I always judge a place by the quality of their bacon! Love to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs facing the river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1946fabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
863 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
275 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing