We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME HAD BY ALL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT TIME HAD BY ALL”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from yet another most enjoyable weekend at Grasmere with a group of friends (22). Couldn't want for more, first class location, lovely rooms, wonderful views, great food, friendly staff and a management team that did all they could to ensure we had a successful stay. Allowing us as a group to have our own dinning room was much appreciated. Thanks once again to all at Grasmere for making our stay such an enjoyable one and we look forward to doing it all again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    168
    101
    64
    42
See reviews for
118
256
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The word "tired" is used in several reviews. This is true but we found the general cleanliness and state of repair about average for a 3* in the UK. Breakfast, on a Sunday when all the guests decided they would eat at the same time was a little crampted in the dinning room but the service was very good and the traditional English was excellent.
The walk into the city is easy for those with average mobility.
More attention is needed on certain areas- the electrical testing ( so called PAT) in the room was either mising or out of date. Our extractor fan in the bathroom did not work.
Booking in is an experience from 50 years ago; despite booking on the internet, a large book with the details of guests is produced for me to add mine. If the full system is not computorised, then this system should be replaced by individual registration cards. The hotel should not be handing me the details- names, address, car reg and date of arrival of other guests.
Would I stay again? Yes at 65GBP per night I would but I may book in under the name Smith!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable weekend. The hotel is well situated with a lovely garden leading to the river. Some of the comments here are a bit harsh, it is after all only a three star hotel. Our deluxe room was clean and large with a nice view. The bathroom and plumbing were good and clean. Bed and linen were very good quality. The hotel was busy but breakfast was tasty and although buffet style it was continuously restocked. Service for tea and toast etc. was prompt. All in all it was an enjoyable stay, staff were friendly and made us and the dog feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexterdood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary comments, and was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of your complimentary comments will be passed on to our staff as I am sure they enjoy them as much as I do. We look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Two of these were with a large party of friends. We found the manager and staff pleasant and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The food (3 breakfasts and 3 dinners) were all well cooked and presented and the service was good. There is a lovely walk into Salisbury across the water meadows from the hotel and a view of the Cathedral from the hotel. We would stay at this hotel if we return to Salisbury and would also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenes51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed overnight in a deluxe room, with dinner, B & B. The cost was £149, as it included a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates. Our room had a good view of the cathedral, but what a tired, dark room. I understand that hotels cannot replace furniture regularly, but wallpaper is a different matter. In the corner of the bedroom the paper was coming off the walls & in the window bay and damp stains on the bathroom and bedroom ceiling. A fresh lick of paint and wallpaper would have made all the difference. Energy saving lightbulbs didn't help either. The bathroom was tired too. Furniture scratched, mirror wearing away and everything could have done with a brightening up session.
We believed that the menu left in the bedroom, is the same as you would get with the dinner, included in the price. Beware.. this is not the case. So, from an expected menu of around 10 main courses, including pheasant, duck, steak, you are presented with a boring, mundane and uninspiring 4 dish choice, inc. pasta, turkey and stuffing. The choice was like a school or hospital dinner menu. No steak, duck or pheasant to be seen. All a bit of a con. On complaining about the amount we had paid for the deluxe package, the owner agreed to let us choose from the menu which was left in our bedroom.
The lounge area is a hotch potch of furniture, with a large tv balanced on a small table in the corner. It reminded me of an old persons home. Old furniture and dull lighting.
This hotel has a lovely setting but is totally ruined by the lack of either care or money. I suggest the owner goes into each and every room and looks at the state of the rooms, furniture, especially the decor in the older part of the hotel and the bathrooms.
As said before, it's more like a care home than a hotel. The potential is there though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review when you stayed with us recently. I am sorry not to have responded sooner, I was pleased that you liked the view from your room. In reply to your comments, you will be pleased to hear that the room you stayed in has been redecorated, the offending wallpaper (the result of an overflowing bath from the room above) has been replaced and the ceilings have been repainted. All of the lightbulbs have been replaced by bulbs with 100w lumens. The furniture has all been treated by one of our local tradesman and brought up to the sparkle it should have.
I was horrified to hear that you were presented the wrong menu on the evening of your stay and immediately instructed the staff to give you the the a la carte menu. I hope that you enjoyed your meal.
The furniture in the lounge is an eclectic mixture of expensive leather and fabric suites of differing styles to give the lounge a sense of character. All of the light bulbs have been upgraded. The television was specifically requested by some of our guests seeking to catch up with sporting events like the rugby.
Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to express your concerns and write your review, for it is constructive comments like yours that help us to maintain our standards and in fact gives us the chance to improve on them.
We do hope that this has not deterred you from visiting us again when we can show you that we do really care about our clients. Please feel free to give me a call when you next decide to visit Salisbury and I shall personally handle your booking.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Probably one of the worst hotels i have stayed in on business in the last 18months. I booked in around 5pm to find a 'Wake' going on, it appeared i was on the only business person staying here and the rest of the guests were part of the Funeral party with a disco in the next room to the dining area and due to no wirless connection in the room i had to sit in the dining area! Dinner ddint start until 7pm however could not believe it when the kitchen & hotel staff came out into the dining area with their plates and sat down and ate their food in the 'Guest' dining area. Ther food was very average and the wine shocking! Overall the hotel needs a tidy up the rooms are ok, the bathroom was very basic and there was more that came from the bottom of the shower hose than the head! I really want to say something positive about this hotel however i am struggling. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 935charlotte_W935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is invaluable to our business as it helps us with monitoring your concerns and maintianing our normal high standards. I was very sorry to hear of your unhappiness and would like to assure you that we have taken steps to rectify some of the issues you have brought to our attention.
Funeral gatherings are delicate and emotional events, and we do try to handle them with the utmost care and discretion. The "Wake" you mentioned had been in progress in the afternoon and was meant to finish by around the time of your arrival, I am sorry to hear that their music disturbed you. The gathering did finish by 7.00pm and the guests departed, there were only one or two rooms occupied by funeral guests staying the night.
As the funeral gathering was a little noisy one of our staff, in order to give you privacy and wifi access to the internet, directed you into the restaurant. I am not sure if you were aware that there is superfast hard wired and very secure Broadband in your bedroom. At this time the restaurant was closed, as it was when the staff ate their meal, and I am sorry that you were upset by this. Quite a few restaurants feed their staff in their restaurants albeit out of opening hours.
I was pleased to hear that you were happy with the bedroom. The shower head you mentioned has been repaired, thank you for bringing this to our attention. You will be pleased to hear that some of the bathrooms are due for a refurbishment later this year. As part of our ongoing continual annual refurbishment.
Once again thank you for bringing to our attention your unhappiness, we do like to hear from our guests at the time of their stay as it gives us a chance to rectify any of our mistakes or shortcomings. However we are pleased that you took the time and trouble to post your review, as mentioned earlier it does give us valuable feedback and enable us to maintain and improve on our standards.
I do hope that you will give us another chance on you next visit to Salisbury and we can show that we really do care about out clients and our business.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

There are some real positives with this hotel but unfortunately a few niggles too.

We stayed in a superior double room as it has a bigger bed (two singles pushed together to make a king size). The room was a great size and had a gorgeous view over the river. The bathroom was also a good size with bath/shower, 2 x sinks and toilet. The rooms were very clean and tidy. My main gripe is to do with the bedding - ie not big enough for this size of bed which meant that one of us was without covers every night. Luckily the room was nice and warm otherwise I think we would have struggled.
The hotel in general is a little tired but that actually made it very charming - there is a big lounge with comfy chairs where you can sit and read, a very small bar area, terrace outside overlooking the gardens & river, and dining area. The breakfast was generally ok but the bacon was undercooked and toast burnt. We decided to eat dinner there on our final night and whilst the food was delicious and cooked very well I didn't feel it warranted the £18/£19 per main course. In addition they had done nothing to make the room feel nice ie the tables still looked as they did for breakfast with no tablecloths or placemats so it was nothing special. Surely to charge that kind of money you expect the surroundings to be a little nicer. Service generally was ok - some staff friendlier than others.
The main thing about this hotel is the location - very close to the centre of the city and the view was gorgeous. This in itself would make me stay at this hotel again.
Other: we ate at the Strada restaurant (Italian) - good food & service; and the Swan Inn in Stoford - average food & good service.

Room Tip: Superior double rooms for King Size beds and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing