We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We enjoyed the quiet and very beautiful place in the middle of a wonderfull garden, situated on the bank of the river. Our room was very nice, large and quiet. In addition the manager was really very helpfull when we looked the key in our car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Babs & Dale went out of their way to make our daughter’s wedding weekend really special. Their pricing was spot on. The Staff were very attentive & couldn’t do enough for us. We thoroughly recommend The Grasmere for your next function.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife, myself and our daughter have just spent a very comfortable 2 nights at this hotel,we found it to be very comfortable and we enjoyed the courteous and friendly welcome form the pleasant staff,nothing was too much trouble.
Our rooms were comfortable and clean with the usual facllities,and the housekeeping were very good in servicing the rooms to a high standard while we were away.
On the first night we had a family(4) meal in the restaurant which was of an exceptional standard, the food was fresh and very well presented with an excellent choice available from the menue!
On checking out we were able to enjoy the use of the lounge and other facilities until we needed to depart.In all I would have no qualms in recommending this hotel for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Request a Cathedral view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The team at Grasmere House went out of their way to ensure that our stay was wonderful. We had two rooms, a double and a twin, with Cathedral and River Views. The standard of accomodation was excellent and the breakfast was great too. The most pleasing thing was the courteous service which often went the extra mile to ensure our stay was wonderful. Whenever we thanked a member of the team their reply was always 'my pleasure'. This did not seem to be a meaningless corporate mantra but actually seemed to be true for each individual team member. We really did feel that it was their pleasure to serve us. This is a rare quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

lovely hotel, well situated with pleasant walk into town. Staff reception was exceptional and were not phased by us both arriving on motorbikes. Really good room with modern bathroom and shower and lovely views over gardens, river and cathedral. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely stop again. If anything, which is minor, tv could do with being updated, flat screen would add to the cosmetic appearance of the room, instead of being a dominant feature, but that is me being picky.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very nice review, we do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and for this we are all greateful. I shall pass on your complimentary comments to all the staff. Thank you for bringing to our attention that the TV's needed updating. Well, we are very pleased to let you know that we have been waiting for our new TVs since the change over to digital in April. We are all very excited and happy to let you and everyone else, know that all of our TV's are the new flat screen digital ones, and most (96%) of them are the large 32" screens. They are the very new LED TV's that are also very low in energy consumption. So we have achieved two things we have upgraded, as we constantly do and we have supported the move to a more green policy.
Once again many thanks
Dale Naug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for one night with our two young children. A large family room with everything there. Breakfast was very good and the service was top class. The only slight problem was that the fan in the bathroom came on when you went near the toilet and it was a bit noisy. Only a minor issue but everything else was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very complimentary review, we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast and service. I am sorry to hear you found the fan noisy, am also sorry to say that fans in our bathrooms are a statutory requirement by our health and hygiene regulations. Some of the bathrooms have advanced movement detection sensors that activate the fan, as compared to those activated by the light switch. However I will investigate if any of them need maintenance or replacement, as all mechanical items do at some time. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Salisbury.
Dale Naug
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

'The best breakfast we have ever tasted'
The Grasmere has hosted our daughter's Wedding reception in 2010 and our Ruby Wedding Anniversary celebration this year. Both ocassions were a resounding success due to the very discreet, efficient and friendly service, together with a calm, welcoming atmosphere.
All our expectations were met. The food served was outstanding, hot and on time, despite having 80 guests seated for a three course meal.
The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. Provision for children and disabled guests is met without fuss.
The lovely grounds include a river with ducks and swans and a superb view of Salisbury Cathedral across the water meadows. They provide an excellent backdrop for photography.
We are looking for an excuse to have another party at this fine establishment, just a short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing