We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily forgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012, actually forgot to review the place, which doesn't say much for the impression it left on me.

Good points: adequate free parking, really quiet, nice view from the room, really friendly staff.

Points for consideration: terribly dated, quite cramped, didn't eat at the hotel so can't say much for that. Also the location isn't the best - it's quite far out of the town centre if you're going to be walking.

Other than this - take it or leave it - have stayed in much better establishments in Salisbury, but would stay here again if needed. As previously mentioned, staff were really friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matteh-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

I am a resident of Salisbury and had been told the Sunday Lunch at The Grasmere Hotel was value for money. This is four courses for £9.50, sounds too good to be true well unfortunately it is.This comprised of a starter, vegetable soup, roast and pud. The restaurant intself looks and feels welcoming so it all seemed promising. The bread roll tasted quite strange, almost stale. My melon and raspberry coli starter comprised of hard melon and unpleasant coli. The worst course was the "vegetable soup" this was a vegetable soup cube with parsley in it, at least thats what it seemed like. Again unpleasant tasting. The roast beef was ok and the veg selection good. My pud of choc and walnut was passable.
When we left to pay we were told to go to the till where we were ignored for a good five to ten minutes whilst the woman in charge fussed around her family. We could have so easily have left without paying and I swear no one would have noticed, it was as if we were invisible.Our honesty prevented us doing so. All the young staff tried hard but some were lacking in basic training. To round it all off we were left with an unpleasant greasy taste in our mouth for the rest of the afternoon. They need to concentrate on offering a good roast and pud and forget the starter/soup option. I for one will not be going back nor reccommending it to any friends. Best avoided.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank springchicken66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

stayed in hotel for 4 nights ,cant knock it! staff were very good and breakfast was very good,room clean and spacious, view stunning ,some sheep making a noise in nearby field early one morning only fault!! lol

Room Tip: get a room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, and for your lovely comments. We were pleased to hear that you liked the stunning views of Salisbury Cathedral and the watermeadows. So sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the sheep in the watermeadows opposite the hotel. You will be pleased to know that these sheep are a cross between the Welsh Black and the Jacobs sheep, and that they are suitable for the type of watermeadows they inhabit. Quite a few of our residents have asked us what variety they are. I do also believe that they are very suitable for spit roasting
Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your review
We look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House again on your next visit
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, booked by friends for staying after a party at their house. Nice room, roomy, comfy beds, iron & board, decent bathroom. Came down for breakfast, to conservatory overlooking river & cathedral. Usual cereals, requested toast delayed until hot breakfast. Guess what, arrived straightaway... Then to the buffet... Well, reasonable choice, but.. Fried eggs been there probably since service started, along with the scrambled which you could have bounced off all four walls. Bacon - either almost raw streaky, or back the size of a gammon steak. Stone cold plates, so all foods went cold in seconds. Toast arrived, looking like it had been waved at the toaster... Cheap jam & marmalade in those little plastic things. Just so poor... When we checked out, we were asked if everything OK, so we gave our opinion of the breakfast....£19 knocked off the bill, still leaving room rate of £87. My email address was requested, apparently so the G M could get in touch.. My suggestion was that he perhaps ought to eat what the guests are offered... Overpriced, you seem to be paying for the view. Had better at b&b charging half this.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harryhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Receptionist and manager were very welcoming and responded promptly to my needs as a business traveller. Accommodation (Room 25) ground floor was spacious and well appointed with a view into the Gardens. Evening meals and breakfast were well presented with helpful staff.

Plenty of car parking and a good Wifi connection in the bedroom.

An excellent rating would have been given if the dining room had a more modern feel and the evening staff were more attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 25 for couples / single travellers
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very complimentary comments about our friendly staff and the spacious and well appointed bedroom with garden views, you stayed in. Very pleased to hear that you liked the fact that we have plenty of parking, and that the wifi had good connection. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast. I will spend some time with staff training for the evening staff in the restaurant to ensure that our guests always have an enjoyable experience and come back to us. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review, and your most constructive comments as it is comments like yours that we value and help us to improve on our standards.
We look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked this room the day before for a very good discounted price, good sized car park was a plus on arrival and very friendly receptionist, our room was cathedral - riverside facing and that was another fabulous bonus for us. It has an olde worldy interior dark decor but, this is a typically quaint English hotel complete with trouser press and iron facilitities for us it was just perfect, clean, neat and tidy. The best thing about this hotel is the location the large grounds with riverside and the cathedral views are stunning all in all, we felt lucky, cut-price stay at a lovely hotel...bargain!!

Room Tip: always ask for riverside view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review of Grasmere House Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had such a bargain, and we look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful hotel with a few modern touches, clean, and friendly attentive staff. Our TV didn't work for the first night and many staff members came to try and fix it, once they got to the route of the problem and couldnt get anyone out for a few days, they moved us to a bigger and much nicer room for the second night - it was the best nights sleep i've had for as long as I can remember, I was very sad to have to leave. Only down side for me was the breakfast - but that's simply because I'm a vegetarian and there wasn't a great amount of choice, but it wasn't a problem, there was toast and cerial so that was fine.
Would deffinately go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLWXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We are very sorry and apologise that we could not get your televison to work, they are all brand new televisions (installed in April this year) with all the up to date facilities including over 70 freeview channels, however we were happy to move you the following night . You will be pleased to know that the company who supplied the tevelision have apologised and were here on the Monday and replaced a faulty part. We were very pleased to hear that you had the best nights sleep and sorry to hear that you were sad to leave. We wish you had mentioned to our breakfast staff that you would have liked something different for breakfast, as we always do look after vegetarian and vegan guests as well as anyone with special dietary needs (gluten free, dairy free, etc), Further to your comment we will in future endeavour to have available a selection of vegetarian or quorn sausages in addition to our mushrooms toamatoes beans and eggs, we will add to our selection of dried and preserved fruits as well as fresh fruit to accompany our natural and fruit yoghurts. I have made note to place a small sign on the buffet table, to let our guests know that porridge is freshly made to order.
Once again many thanks for your very kind comments, I shall pass them on to our staff. We do appreciate constructive comments like yours as they help us to maintain our normal high standards and improve on them. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will definitely be back, and we look forward to looking after you when you do return.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing