We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
209
200
120
83
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
200
120
83
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversalisbury cathedralwater meadowsfour poster bedplenty of parkinglovely hotelpublic areassuperior roomcity centrecar parkthe ground floorstayed here for one nightbuffet stylesunday lunchafternoon tealovely roomsteak
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Although we only live an hour away we wanted a break for a couple of days and booked two nights 28th & 29th December. We took our 16 yold son. Our room was spacious and easily accommodated the extra bed. The food for both breakfast and dinner was excellent and all the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMitchell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed in teh Grasmere Hotel for our wedding anniversary. Overall very nice hotel, and nothing really to complain about or to add to. It was busy as its December party time, its in a good location as only about 10 to 15 mins walk into the centre, but it seemed to miss any atmosphere. The staff were all helpfull and friendly but never any thanks yus or may I help with your bags etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hotel is very conveniently sited just about 10 minutes walk from Salisbury Cathedral and with its own capacious car park and the rooms at the back overlooking the river and the Cathedral itself it offers a very enviable location. The staff I met were attentive and friendly, including at breakfast when all too often you tend to get surly service. My bedroom was well appointed but there were signs of some need for refurbishment with flaky paint on the bathroom ceiling over the shower and a (too!) well worn armchair, a little peeling wallpaper on the staircase and so on. The breakfast room (presumably the restaurant too) is somewhat dated and unattractive, although there is a generous choice of breakfast bits to suit all taste. My rooms was very clean and given the combination of price and location it's easy to overlook the other minor issues, but one hopes these would be addressed by the management sooner rather than later, to avoid this promising establishment to slip into senescence and decay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impavidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just spent 3 days in the friendliest hotel ever !!! The hotel is cosy & charming, nothing is too much trouble, the food is delicious great presentation and very prompt room service.
Rooms are very clean & spacious with the most comfortable beds.Location is perfect with lovely walk to City centre passing the Cathedral.
Above all the staff make it (Petra we love you !!!!!!) Sorry we didn't book a week !!.
Many thanks

Rose & Mum xxx

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The hotel proprietor and his staff were warm and welcoming. Relaxed friendly atmosphere; neat and tidy rooms. Excellent cuisine by superb chef.. Dinner is a must here with a Western and Asian menu. Rooms at back overlook river and Salisbury cathedral and it does not get flooded. Beautiful garden to eat outdoors in Summer by river.

Room Tip: Room overlooking garden, river and Cathedral at back of house
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews