We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for seeing Salisbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Booked a Sunday Special including diner with a deluxe double for £90. Overall a good experience. Hotel in need of a few minor repairs to spruce it up but room was clean and tidy with a nice view of the river and meadows but not the Cathedral. Nice supper and good cooked breakfast. Great location for walking into Salisbury with a nice garden running down to the river.
I booked by telephone as the hotel booking sites seemed to be charging much more or saying there was no availability.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fragrantfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here on 1st March 2013. Thought I would treat my boyfriend to a more luxourious hotel than a B&B as we were visiting his family. It turned out that I would have a had a better time with a B&B at a cheaper price. We went to bed around 11pm and was kept awake by teenagers running up and down the stairs outside of our room. They were also shouting up and down the stairs to each other arranging what they were going to do the next day. I was surprised that no member of staff approached these guests to settle them down, as they were extremely loud and must have been heard from reception. When we ran the bath it was found to have lots of bits/dirt in it. We thought we would be put in a better mood with breakfast considering the price we had paid to stay there, but was sadly disappointed. We were welcomed by a member of staff who did not seem to understand us and failed to tell us we could get juice and other items from the breakfast table. She made ordering the cooked breakfast confusing. We did not seem to be given the same level of customer service as the family next to us, even though I realised they were the family making the noice the previous night. When the breakfast came out, the toast was burnt and cold and my poached egg was uncooked to the point that when I put my fork in, clear liquid ran all over the rest of my food. We left immediately and will not consider paying out for this hotel again, or recommend it to anyone else. The only good thing about our stay was the decoration and views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

What a great little setting,superb views from the beer garden across the water to the cathedral,rooms are of a nice size ,dated but clean, very friendly staff ,Breakfast was a buffet size fry up with plenty of choice,i stayed here for one night on a business trip and i will keep it on my list to stay again when around the Salisbury area,Good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TellMassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

For a non-chain hotel, this has great service, a personal touch and real character! The owner walked around asking his guests if they were having a good time, the bar staff were very friendly and sociable and the rooms are large and comfortable, with a beautiful garden and amazing views over the river, fields and Salisbury cathedral. It's an older hotel, but it charming and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn_moores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you are going to Salisbury, Grasmere House Hotel is the perfect choice. Beautiful surroundings by the river, huge garden and a fantastic view towards the cathedral.
The manager, Dale Noug, and his staff does everything to make the guests feeling good.
It's clean, nice and all the hotel is very charming.
Thanks a lot for a fantastic stay. I am coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The garden areas were fabulous but inside the hotel was a bit tired. Overall the staff very helpful if a little difficult to understand due to accents. On sunday morning the breakfast was awful ,tasted as though it had been kept warm. The following day we had a self sevice hot buffet which was fine but no fish on offer as described on menu in room.We left the car behind in the carpark and explored Salisbury on foot and really enjoyed the break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisarmitage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Went to the hotel on a gift voucher from friends, B&B and evening meal. The location is superb, easy walking distance of the Cathedral and main town, situated backing onto the river Avon, a real eye pleaser.
At reception we were met by the fantastic Mr Peter Finta who booked us in some two hours before we were really able. The room was The Constable suite. A large room and modern clean bathroom with a stunning view over the aforementioned river at the bottom of the garden. The bed cover/spread/valance or whatever you call it, was very heavily stained and we immediately consigned it to the floor where it stayed for our visit. The bedding was sheets and blankets which coupled with the double bed ( which was split in the middle and joined) and the coldness of the room equated to a pretty restless night. Peter provided us with any wish, (bottle opener, glasses etc) he is five star!
We were met at dinner by the Head Waiter - who enquired as to whether we were residents and what room we were from rather grumpily. We were not particularly inspired by the dining room or surrounds which could be described as tired. However, I had prawn cocktail, steak and plum pudding which I thought was very good 8.5 out of 10. My wife gave her meal of the same except duck for main, 8 out of 10. We adjourned to bed and slept 40 winks! The morning chorus was greeted by a woman in the room below coughing/giggling and snorting from just before 6 a.m until we rose at 8 a.m when we couldn't stand it anymore! Breakfast was 6.5 out of 10 (brown half done toast when we asked for white, normal tea instead of the requested Earl Grey) with so many staff around you had a job to see the 'help yourself' buffet. My wife wasn't that impressed with the whole gig to be fair but I am slightly more forgiving. Therefore this review is the coupling of our joint experience. About 6 out of 10 the whole experience. Could be so much better with a quick visit from Alex Polizzi!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilFawltyTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
941 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
591 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing