We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little tired ”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Nice enough and we got an upgraded room, but decor is a little tired and breakfast the normal uninspired buffet.

Seems to target weddings and the older set (not that we had trouble with noise from a wedding)

City centre was a pleasant ~10min walk

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tripperjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    163
    98
    61
    41
See reviews for
111
252
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Grasmere House hotel is very convenient as you can walk into Salisbury either by the river or through the Close. It is good to get free parking. The hotel is as other poeple say rather tired, shabby and dated and could do with a good clean, but it provides a bed and breakfast at a reasonable cost. The breakfast is pretty poor - I have no idea how it it's possible to make toast that flabby! Staff are variable - people on reception fine, but the person just chatting up guests and then leaning on the reception counter drumming his fingers and sighing doesn't really help anyone! However we woud stay there again because of the location and price.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel. We were at the front and although the hotel is set back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly, our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a huge zip n link bed that was very comfortable. The hotel is off the road and our room was at the back facing the river, fields and the awe inspiring cathedral. the room was very quiet even with the window open. The only thing to disturb our sleep on night one was the tv switching itself on twice in the night, spooky! We un plugged the tv on the second night to ensure this didn't happen again.
We used the bar and lounge on both nights, the lounge had a function table propped up against the wall both evenings and was very brightly lit not making it very homely and warm.
Breakfast staff on the first morning were a little grumpy and ignored us whilst discussing their rotas despite being quiet, on the second morning it was very busy and they were much more attentive the breakfasts on both mornings were served buffet style to which im not a huge fan but were actually freshly cooked and very good and kept us going all day.
We had dinner on the second evening, this was a really superb experience, the lady serving was very friendly and informative of the menu and the meals were delicious and very reasonably priced as was the wine.

Would like to give 3 1/2 dots due to the poor ambience in the public areas and the older male breakfast staff being surly and letting the otherwise very friendly young team down. but All in all we had a good couple of days exploring and chilling out in salisbury. :-)

Room Tip: Room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here one night with a group. The hotel has character. The staff were friendly and helpful despite the restaurant being very busy at the time. Lovely views across the river to Salisbury cathedral. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Nice to find a hotel serving such a wonderful roast dinner at such an amazing price, took my mother for her 80th birthday and was made to feel very special, will return soon. Thanks team will book in again really soon

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tupac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are really lovely and the room is delightful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was beautifully served, presented and lovely to eat. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Tired jaded & scruffy . No idea how it has a "4" rating on trip advisor . A "2 or generous 3" would be more realistic . Food was ok & setting lovely but staff unfriendly & unprofessional, public areas unacceptable, dark dingy & scruffy. Bedroom was ok but bathroom had broken sink , broken lamp in room & the water from tap was cloudy , I did overhear other guests complaining about the plumbing . If you like high standards steer clear .

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Millhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing