We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A superb two day stay over christmas. super hotel staff very friendly and helpfull, food was excellant and so much that dont think we will have to eat for a few days a member of staff also escorted us to midnight mass at the cathedrial .overall a superb and relaxing christmas .
a big thankyou to all the management and staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very nice and quiet hotel in traditional English style with beautiful view on Salisbury Cathedral beyond water meadows with wild geese flock grazing.The English food was really tasty, you should not miss excellent the raspberry-chocolate mousse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I , with friends, stayed here on Friday 13th December, 2013. The staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble. Twin bedded room - number 20 on the top floor, - was so comfortable. Spacious, excellent en-suite and wonderful view of the water meadows and Salisbury Cathedral. All of this enhanced by the presence of the owner Dale, who was everywhere, socialising with guests and making sure that all was as it should be. This is the way a hotel should be run. We will always stay here whenever in Salisbury.
Elizabeth and Kenneth Tyrrell

Room Tip: We stayed in twin - number 20 - and would ask for this room again. See why above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Off season you can get deals and for £85 per night we got a super downstairs "suite" with garden and town views,really well appointed,spacious and clean.Large bathroom with shower,bath,good consumeables etc etc.
Really good value for an hotel with adequate parking,so close to the town centre.So why 3/5?
The bathroom has seen better days;some mold,some rust on the radiator.
For a prestige room we now expect flannels to be provided,and water in the bedroom (we couldn't even get mineral water for the room from the bar (to be paid for by us) as it wasn't stocked,we were told (?)
The whole place had an air of can't quite be bothered.
On an individual basis however,some of the staff were really wonderful;in particular the evening meal and breakfast waitress was exemplary;someone I would be delighted to employ.Some were less bothered.
Maybe it all bucks up in season.In the meantime a negotiated stay here would be fine as long as Salisbury was the main focus rather than a really good hotel experience.
Food.
Evening meal - really poor,and not cheap.
Tasteless thin soup (nearly£5.00!),dense,tasteless terrine,mixed up combinations of veg and mains (all,strangely tasteless).
Just poor.
I was ill overnight but that might have been from something else - reception didn't seem to be so bothered so it can't have been them.
Breakfast was a buffet,even though there were few guests (does this point to the overall management ethos?),and was OK;usual buffet defects of overheated stuff etc,but overall not so bad.
Stay here on the cheap and eat elsewhere,and you'll be fine

Room Tip: Facing the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, our room facing the back of the property and the Cathedral. Although it was December the gardens still looked lovely--I'll bet it is delightful in the spring and summer. We booked a standard double room. The room was the size we expected for the UK--enough room to move around without feeling overly cramped. The bathroom in #15 is a narrow converted closet with shower stall--fine for us but tight, so if you are of ample size or height please inform the staff that you require a larger bathroom to move around in when making reservations. We enjoyed the cookies/biscuits on the coffee and tea tray in the room--a nice touch for someone wanting a snack and not wanting a late lunch.
The bed was comfortable, wifi worked well, the TV was good. We made reservations for dinner at the Grasmere, not knowing where to eat in town. The food selection was very good, my husband had the duck and I had the bacon-wrapped chicken. The vegetable soup was pureed, mostly broccoli with other vegetables and seasonings playing off each other. The bacon-wrapped chicken was very good, my husband enjoyed his duck, and the side vegetables had a hint of ginger and possibly clove to them. For dessert I'd ordered the apple flan, and here was my only disappointment. What I got was a soft-crusted pie and not a custard. The dessert was still good, just not what I expected. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet the following morning which had Continental as well as Full English offerings. The hash brown triangles were some of the best we've had and my husband loved their coffee. Generally in the UK he has been served weak, flavorless coffee, but here it was strong and rich. Not being a coffee drinker myself, you'll have to take his word for it! The service was pleasant from check-in to dining to check-out, the staff courteous. There is ample free parking in their lot, and also a small bar where you can order cocktails in the evening.

Room Tip: Do inquire about bathroom size, there is no elevator but several sets of stairs and rooms on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We booked in ready for our grandson's Afghanistan medal parade as it was close to the centre of Salisbury. The room was lovely and warm and the beds very comfortable. I should have told them I needed a ground floor room as my husband is slightly disabled, as it was we had a twin room on the second floor (no lift). Still no problem, we managed.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs request a ground floor room as there is no lift. Would have pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed one night - with our two dogs. From the outside condition and poor decor inside the hotel seemed a bit Fawlty Towers, even had letters hanging off of the hotel name, but the room was nice, clean and spacious. The hotel was quite busy but there was little guest noise or road noise. Breakfast was a buffet Full-English which was plentiful and tasty. All the staff were pleasant and polite. There was plenty of grass to walk the dogs down to the river, with views of the cathedral. Location was excellent and there is a splendid 15 min walk over the river to the Cathedral and then into town - if you don't want to drive in. Off road car parking was easy with lots of space.

Room Tip: We had room 29 - looked over the front car park - but roomy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happydays46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £58 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing