We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional English hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional English hotel...”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for a week - the house itself is large and has an old English country feel/style inside the foyer and lounge. The rooms are more modern, with TV, tea/coffee, hairdryer, ironing board etc. The hotel has all the facilities you would need - my room had a great view looking out over the River Avon and Salisbury Cathedral. For breakfast they offer a buffet with fruit, cereal and full cooked English (with extras cooked upon request). Room service was also well priced and good food. Plenty of car parking, close proximity to the city centre & free wifi. The best part of my stay were the staff - everyone on reception, the cleaners and the manager were all very friendly and made us feel welcome - they remembered who we were and asked us how our jobs were going on a daily basis. Nothing was too much for them and because of this I would definitely consider staying here again when I return to Salisbury.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sampmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    168
    101
    64
    42
See reviews for
118
256
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed here twice now. the first time was for leisure, this time was for business. The Hotel is in a very good spot that is quiet, with a great view of the Salisbury Cathedral. The staff is first rate, and the room was very spacious, with very good WIFI speed.

I had to make a change, and the front desk explained to me how to change it through Booking.com, and to have them call the front desk if needed. The change was remarkably painless, and without any fees.

Excellent location for a couples retreat, and for those who like to walk, and see the sights.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, mention it. Not all rooms have a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javamike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed only one night and were given a large comfortable room with a view over the garden across the river to the cathedral. This was during the severe weather and the river had crept over the bank into the garden where ducks were swimming. Breakfast was ok, but as it was a buffet service the hot food was just warm. I prefer my bacon and eggs piping hot. Overall though good value and good location for the city sights

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I travel a lot for business and normally get booked into one of the usual corporate chains for my overnight stays, but for whatever reason tonight I ended up at an independent the "Grasmere House Hotel" in Salisbury. With the corporate chains, you kind of know what you are going to get, but with an independent hotel it's always a bit of a lottery so I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of what this hotel has to offer.

The hotel has a superb location and as per the other reviews, you could describe some areas of the hotels as "Tired" but only if you walk around studying the carpets. For me, I don't give a monkeys if the carpets are patterned rather than being a solid colour that accents the curtains..... at the end of the day this doesn't make any difference to my quality of stay. What is important to me is the feeling you get staying in a hotel, and this is where this hotel scores big. The location is second to none with views over the river to Salisbury Cathedral.

The food is also fantastic and this was helped by the attentive but not intrusive nature of the staff who seem to appear out of nowhere once you have finished a course to remove your plate and shortly replace it with your next course.

I am not sure how the management of this hotel recruit their staff, but I would love to know the secret. Every single person I dealt with from reception, restaurant and the bar were fantastic and I had a great time in chatting to them.

From a business point of view, the WiFi (and also hardwired) internet is free and runs at about 8mb, there is full DVB TV recep and rooms also have irons and ironing boards in them.

In short, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who rates service, amenities and a warm welcome over the aesthetics of modern interior design. Will def be booking back in again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DangerPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You can be confident of a happy time here. The staff went out of their way to make every aspect of our stay as happy as possible. The room was lovely - a superior room, huge bed (bit soft) and great view of the cathedral. The restaurant food was extremely good. If you want negatives the only thing I could say is that the decor could do with a little freshening up here and there.

Room Tip: a superior room was genuinely superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you all so much for heling to make it a wonderful festive time of the year.
The staff and management were excellant, food excellant, accodation excellant and the area excellant as its so close to the Cathedral.
I would recomend any one to take a visit as i'm sure they would say the same. Our dogs were more than welcome here with plenty of space but not a teenage place for partying xxxx

Room Tip: large rooms and beds. doudle sinked bathrooms. lovely veiws of the cathedral and river avon. staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimtaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have just spent my second Christmas at the Grasmere House Hotel. The view from most of the rooms is beautiful - also from the conservatory dining room - the spire of Salisbury Cathedral forms a backdrop to the water meadows where swans and ducks can be seen enjoying their surroundings.
The hotel is warm, comfortable, very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who make sure everyone is well looked after and individual needs are catered for. The food is excellent and there is plenty of choice on each menu. The building was once a private house and in places there are signs of wear and tear but on the whole it provides excellent accommodation and the personal service given by the manager and staff is exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing