We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably shabby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Oakham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably shabby.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Grasmere House Hotel in November. The room (8) we were first allocated was truly awful, bathroom had paint peeling off bath panel, ancient calcium-encrusted shower head, and whole room smelled appalling. Rest of room also disgraceful (supposed to be 'superior room') with torn lampshade, hole in armchair, glass shade mended with sticky tape etc.. After complaining the next morning we were moved to room 15, slightly better but towels were stained with large yellow marks. In both rooms hangers were broken, no basin or bath plugs were attached. I would love to know how this hotel gained its stars because it's a disgrace. We spoke to the manager and he apologised but we were not convinced he was particularly bothered.
I felt sorry for the lovely staff who bear the brunt of complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    172
    101
    67
    42
See reviews for
120
261
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A very accomodating hotel which has pleasant and always helpfull staff.
My stay was midweek and I was treated very well, the staff could not do enough for me and the food was excellent and varied with the kitchen accomodating my dietary requirements.

My trip was for business but due to its quiet location with a great view of the cathedral out of my room and the short walk (under 10 mins) to the centre of town I will be coming back for a break with my partner.

Value for money highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Its been a long time since I've experienced such friendly, attentive staff at a Hotel. Ringing and booking was always easy and they answered the phone personally! We had a fantastic room with views of the catherdral and recent floods..... evening food was great and very well presented. If you're looking for a quirky place to stay with lovely atmosphere then this is for you. When we stayed it was raining and cold but I can imagine it is fantastic in the warmer months. I stayed for my birthday and when we came back in (late from the pubs) and asked for some champagne flutes for more fizz - (didnt really need it but you know how it is) the guy on reception got us an ice bucket with ice and put strawberries in the flutes - now that is what I call effort - specially as it was nearly mignight! It is an ideal level walk into the City centre and I'm re-booked already to go back and go into the City to eat at the superb La Molina - tapas bar we found - for lunch. Loved my stay - really loved the staff, loved the very very comfortable bed and I loved the place - it is a real gem of a find. Just to mention we went to a 5 * hotel the following night and it in no way compared to my stay here.

Room Tip: Room 22 and 23 have a private (but shared) patio and view of Catherdral. Beds are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWinslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

wouldn't even know it was there unless I was told about it..
Hidden away just off a main road and what a gem of a find !!!

there was 15 of us and the 4 course meal was amazing and very reasonably priced and served in a very professional manner and was something you would expect to cost double the price.

Rooms were very big and spacious and clean and large bathroom as well.

Views were amazing from the rear even though there was flooding there was no risk of this hotel being under threat as this made the view better in my opinion and Salisbury cathedral In the background make for spectacular views at night when lit up.

Owner and staff always on hand for anything we needed but never in the way

Would stay here again in a heart beat as this place doesn't try to be flash as it not like most hotels, or chain hotels as it has a personal touch to it..

This would be a amazing place in the summer when warmer to sit out at night and watch the sun set and cathedral light up and swans swimming around..

10/10 from me

Room Tip: 1 that looks over the river..just ask staff when booking for a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curryhollic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a week-end break here and had an ok time. I,m normally reasonably generous when reviewing but felt the Grasmere needed to do some upgrading . I don't mind wear and tear in old hotels in fact it makes them kinda nice but this was a hotel needing some tlc. Firstly the pluses
1) Staff.. very attentive and pleasing.
2) Location.. At its best in summer i can imagine a Pimms looking out over the river Nadder and Cathedral.. Also its just a nice gentle 15 minute stroll into town.. excellent.
But ....
Rooms .... We had a large room with 4 poster bed .. looked great.. The bathroom was tired and ceiling was flaky. The shower was fine heat and power wise but had a mind of its own and kept falling towards the floor causing me to hold it with one hand while washing with the other. A job with the Cirque De Soleil can't be far away.
Food .. breakfast was fine but we had a Valentines Evening Supper which was a bit of a mish-mash . My wives main course was a chicken breast stuff with cheese accompanied with a swede/mash combo olives and all sorts. Side veggies were carrots,large onions,cauliflower more potatoes in a gravy. Bit weird !
In the package was afternoon tea which i expected to be scones, jam etc . Turned out to be a piece of cake and a chocolate roll. More disappointing was the fact we came down in the evening to go out and it was still there.
I am a massive fan of this sight and sometimes reviews are what hotels need to put there house in order. I hope for the Grasmere they look at this and take some on board as it deserves to succeed on its staff alone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night while passing through Salisbury and this hotel is ideally located. We looked for other hotels in and around the town but finding accommodation that provided suitable parking wasn't easy. This hotel is to the South of the town and just a 10 mins walk to the cathedral. We originally booked B&B but having walked around the town didn't find any places that appealed to have dinner, so elected to eat in (it's fine if you want the likes of Strada etc.). The hotel food was very good with a wide choice menu and we stayed in room 33 (a four poster) with a beautiful view (across the flooded river!) of the cahedral and spire. The town itself isn't much to write home about (all English towns these days are pretty much the same) and we weren't able to find a good pub for lunch, but peraps we'll look harder next time.

Steve and Jan Andrews

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I recently organised a dinner for 27 people at the Grasmere House Hotel. It was an enormous success, thanks in no small part to the excellent food and service. I have had loads of compliments on the quality of the food, and am happy to pass them on.

The Grasmere does not pretend to be glitzy or flash, but it does have Salisbury Soul and a warm heart. Highly recommended.

I can't comment on the rooms, as we only ate there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corpulissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing