We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building & setting but interior in much need of refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful building & setting but interior in much need of refreshing”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The building is lovely and the setting is amazing with beautiful gardens and a view of Salisbury Cathedral.

However, the reception area and toilets all smell of damp and are extremely dated and scruffy.

Food and service were OK, although the the bar ran out of Lemonade at 6pm on a Saturday evening and we were unable to buy wine by the glass, only by the bottle (£20 for Pinot Grigio is quite expensive), and this was only once the barman had been located.

One point to raise is that one of the children in our party was able to access and release the valve on a gas cylinder, which is a fairly big health and safety risk!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    172
    101
    67
    42
See reviews for
120
261
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Grasmere House Hotel overnight on a Saturday evening using the hotel's 'Spring Break' special offer, consisting of a deluxe room, afternoon tea, 3-course a la carte dinner and breakfast. This special offer is usually for two nights, but the hotel staff were very helpful in accommodating us for just one night on the same deal. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a superior room, which was spacious, comfortably furnished and clean. It was a rear bedroom facing the garden and had beautiful views of the River Avon and Salisbury Cathedral.

There was a function taking place on the day of our stay that meant we couldn't use the 'conservatory' (which would have been nice on such a grey drizzly day) and the terrace, garden and lounge areas were also very busy with function guests and children.

Dinner was very good; tasty, generously portioned and beautifully presented. Unfortunately, we were seated in the breakfast room (no tablecloths, candles etc) - it would have been a far nicer ambience in the main conservatory but access was restricted due to the function. Breakfast was from a self-service buffet and was hot, fresh, varied and plentiful.

Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing.

We would have given this hotel 5 stars were it not for the slight disappointment with the ambience of the restaurant (breakfast room) on the night of our stay, but all in all, we had an enjoyable stay at a very reasonable price and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a rear bedroom overlooking the gardens, river and cathedral - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend. Have stayed in several hotels in Salisbury this was the best for value. Has parking which many of the hotels in Salisbury do not and it can get expensive. Includes a very nice breakfast with cereals toast and a cooked breakfast. Which many of the hotels do not. We had a large room with king size bed and window looking over the river and cathedral. The room was very clean with a large bathroom and plenty of hot water.
Go out of the hotel and turn left and left again for a fifteen minute walk into town. You can also turn right and then turn right again when you see the sign for the Old Mill. Stop at the old mill for a drink and then walk through the meadows into town. If the price is right this will be my choice on my next stay in Salisbury.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giniEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
925 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

All the better for not being situated in the city centre, this is a most charming hotel, blessed with great views over the water meadows and back to the towering spire of Salisbury Cathedral.
Reception were exceptionally helpful, and when we found our room it was warm and sunny with that great view. Our bathroom was modern, clean and spacious - reflecting when this Victorian hotel was built. The 4 poster hinted at even earlier times.We had a very comfortable room although the furniture and carpet looked a little aged.
We ate in the restaurant both nights we stayed, and glad we did so; particularly good fish (turbot), and I had succulent partridge.
This is a well organised hotel, with beautiful gardens that lead down to the river Nadder with swans, geese, and mallards enjoying the fast flowing chalk river. It was a view that we never got tired of., and even in a cold wet March the flower gardens and flower beds were dazzling.
Lovely weekend despite the rain; thanks especially to the staff who made it so.

Room Tip: Pay just a little more and bag yourselves a room with a tester (four poster bed), and a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in room 9, which has a wet room for use by disabled residents. My wife is in a wheelchair and the room was just big enough to enable access. The wet room and the shower are excellent, ideal for my wife. Superb view from the ground floor room across the flood plain of the river Nadder to the Cathderal. Breakfast was excellent and all of the hotel and dining staff were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any disabled person.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mjc5779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night recently on a business trip and attended a conference there the next day.
Firstly the receptionist was so lovely and attentive and made us feel really welcome.
My room was even better I had a four poster bed a large TV and beautiful views of the river and cathedral. I had the best nights sleep ever!
As a vegetarian I am usually very fussy when it comes to food but the breakfast was great there was cereals, yoghurt, pastries and cooked English it was great and everyone was very helpful!
The owner of the hotel was very welcoming as well and had a lovely dog called Sasha who was very friendly.
I rate this quaint hotel very highly for a weekend break and as a venue!
Would definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: Chose a room with a four poster bed! They were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandraleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Grasmere House Hotel in November. The room (8) we were first allocated was truly awful, bathroom had paint peeling off bath panel, ancient calcium-encrusted shower head, and whole room smelled appalling. Rest of room also disgraceful (supposed to be 'superior room') with torn lampshade, hole in armchair, glass shade mended with sticky tape etc.. After complaining the next morning we were moved to room 15, slightly better but towels were stained with large yellow marks. In both rooms hangers were broken, no basin or bath plugs were attached. I would love to know how this hotel gained its stars because it's a disgrace. We spoke to the manager and he apologised but we were not convinced he was particularly bothered.
I felt sorry for the lovely staff who bear the brunt of complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing