We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad - could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The room was good in size though the bathroom experience a little under par with the shower. The bar area was OK though very packed with furniture. The breakfast was a huge disappointment. I know we arrived at 90 mins into the setting but the staff were over managed and confused, the food was cold ish and most of my party failed to finish it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBMan_Sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel.
I’m very sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Breakfast. We appreciate all feedback and we take all comments very seriously so that we may address any issues raised. Please be assured that we have discussed your comments with our team in order to provide in the future a better service at breakfast.
Once again thank you for your comments
Kind Regards
Amanda Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

We (me, my wife and two children ages 17 and 11) stayed at The Milford Hall Hotel for one night as part of a two week whirlwind tour of Great Britain during which we stayed at a number of inns and hotels from London, down to Salisbury, Mullion, Cardiff, the Cotswolds (for a family wedding - the genesis of our trip), the Lake District and Edinburgh. Much of our itinerary was booked on-line which can be a "hit and miss" proposition but Milford Hall did not disappoint.

We booked adjoining "Executive Rooms" which were spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Although the rooms are in the new part of the hotel and lack the ambience and character of the traditional rooms they were exactly as advertised and suited our needs perfectly (i.e. a clean, comfortable place to stay on our first night after leaving London and visiting Stonehenge). At £119 per night per room including breakfast, the rooms offered excellent value. Not being able to adjust the temperature of the room ourselves was the only issue albeit a very minor one.

We were greeted by a charming, friendly and helpful receptionist. We had not booked dinner for our arrival (not knowing when we would arrive) but the restaurant was able to accommodate us on short notice and both the food and service were very good. Breakfast included a buffet style "full English" option with plenty of variety. The food was good and the young ladies attending the the guest were friendly, helpful and charming.

It is an easy walk from Milford Hall into the centre of Salisbury and Salisbury Cathedral. The hotel offers ample free parking.

All in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonteguP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Thank you for your great comments about the Hotel and our staff, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our staff who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.
Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

As we arrived we were greeted with warmth and smiles. Check-in and check-out (after 3 nights) was efficient and room keys were waiting for us. The room was most welcoming with plenty of ambient light and warm maroon/cream decor. The air-conditioning was not working but we were able to open the window to cool the room down. An added luxury was towel warmers. We had a minor maintenance issue in the toilet which was attended to efficiently. The location of the hotel in Salisbury is superb - just a short stroll to the market square and on to Salisbury Cathedral.
The dining room food was delicious and the wait staff were friendly and efficient. There is a relaxing lounge bar and an outside garden area available for pre or post dinner drinks.
Our room was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor but because this was part of the extended area, there was a long navigation of corridors through lots of fire doors.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wal151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

All our team would like to thank you for your nice comments on our hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at Milford Hall Hotel !
Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for one night with out two children aged 17 and 12. The children had a lovely, large, clean and modern twin room in the new annexe, we had a charming double in the old part of the house. Service was excellent, friendly and helpful with a smile. We did not eat in the restaurant, but probably would next time, but boo early as it gets very busy with locals, always a good sign. Plenty of free off road parking and only a leisurely 10 minute walk to the centre of Salisbury itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fordee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for your fantastic comments about our hotel and the staff. I was glad to read that you liked the hotel and that our team were friendly and attentive.

Your fantastic comments are there for all the staff to see as there is nothing nicer than letting the team know that all their hard work pays off.

Thank You!!

We look forward to welcome you back to Milford Hall Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Booked in advance for overnight stay whilst attending wedding in Salisbury....hotel well located with plenty of free parking, room was comfortable and good value inclusive of breakfast.....all staff very friendly and helpful--thoroughly recommend this hotel for leisure or business stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickMcBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for your great comments about the Hotel and our staff, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our staff who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The Milford Hall is minutes from the centre of Salisbury.
A very pleasant comfortable hotel staffed by equally pleasant staff. We had a standard room which at £99 B&B thought slightly overpriced but nevertheless would stay again and could recommend.
The room was comfortable and the bed too.
No complaints and we enjoyed an excellent break.
Thanks to all the hardworking friendly staff that work here. It is appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you for your great comments about the Hotel and our staff, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our staff who, I know will greatly appreciate it too. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Great location to walk into Salisbury
Recommend Anokaa Indian boutique restaurant
Large well equipped rooms
Bathroom slightly musty

Very helpful staff

Nice bar

Good breakfast included
Not 5star but very good for the price

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and that you had a comfortable nights stay.

Your kind words have been passed onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel again soon!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Hotel & Spa 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing