We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to visit Stonehenge and Salisbury.
The hotel is in a good location with safe parking. Our room was in the annexe at the rear and therefore quiet and modern. It was a large room, the bed was great and bathroom very good too. There was a wedding party booked into the hotel and we were grateful to be out of the way.
The food in the restaurant was very good and worth trying the steak.
Our only problem was with the wifi which whilst quick and always available in communal areas was a little variable in our room. The receptionist seemed a little clueless as to how this could be rectified but it did improve so she must have made the right call.
Overall this was a good hotel well located and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

All our team would like to thank you for your note and for your favourable comments on Milford Hall Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am pleased to inform you that we have had an engineer at the hotel looking in to the wifi signal, which is now back to its high strength.
We hope to welcome you again very soon to Milford Hall Hotel!
Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

I am a frequent traveller throughout Ireland, ROI and the UK. I always look forward to my stays with Milford Hall as I know I'll get first class service and quality food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your fantastic comments about Milford Hall Hotel and the team. I was glad to read that you always look ofrward to your visits to Milford hall Hotel, that is praise indeed!!!.

Your comments have been communicated to the team who, I know greatly appreciate fantastic comments like this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards & Thank You

Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Decided to stay in Salisbury on a business trip, and ended up at the Milford Hall. Stayed for 8 nights and was very pleased with everything.

Milford Hall is located a short walk from the city center for shopping, cathedral and pubs. You can walk either along the road or the river Avon, and in any case you'll have the opportunity to stop for a bitter on your way. The location is quiet, even on weekend nights. The building seems old as most buildings in England, but is kept in good condition.

Rooms are kept very neat and clean, and a small stuffed bear kept moving around everyday for everyone's amusement. Comfortable size of rooms, not enormous but still plenty of room for guests and luggage. Nice set of complimentaries in the room (Cadbury hot chocolate). Breakfast is fantastic, with either a nice buffe or a plentiful a la carte to chose from.

There's also a very nice trail to walk or jog on on the other side of river Avon, which is just across the road from the hotel. Jogging downriver will take you downtown past the cathedral, jogging upstreams takes you out on the countryside.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JothySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a superb review on the hotel, we much appreciate all feedback especially fantastic comments like yours!

Please be assured I will pass on all your feedback to all the team.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the not too distant furture.

Once again Thank You

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We booked this place for one night to see Stone Henge. It was a great location and had some great pubs with great food in walking distance. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your nice comments about Milford Hall Hotel and the team. I was glad to read that you liked the hotel and that our staff were friendly and helpful.

We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Milford Hall Hotel again in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I regularly book corporate guests rooms in the Milford Hall Hotel, and will in future advise them to eat elsewhere. Went to The Steakhouse attached to the hotel on Saturday and the food and service was dismal.
Badly cooked steak, chips that resembled badly cooked roast potatoes and a bowl of béarnaise that was from a packet with a dish of 80's style salad. Service was poor and had to ask for a napkin and a steak knife. It was no wonder the restaurant only had a handful of diners.
Upon complaining our bill was waived entirely, but would much rather have paid and enjoyed our meal :-(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nocamerarequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel restaurant on Tripadvisor.

We too would much rather you enjoyed your meal, however I do feel that our commitment was shown on that on this one occasion we got it wrong.

I can assure you that all comments are valuable to us and taken very seriously which helps us maintain the quality of service to our guests. Please be assured that we have discussed in depth your comments with our team both in the Kitchen & the Restaurant in order to provide in the future a better service & product.

I very much hope that you give us the opportunity to show you and your guests that your dining experience at Milford Hall Hotel can be a pleasurable one.

Thank you once again for your valued comments.

Kind regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a 4 night break here over the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend and were very impressed. The hotel location was ideal - close to the ring road so easy to travel to other places without braving the town centre traffic but only a very pleasant 10 minute stroll from the city centre. The room was spotlessly clean and one of the quietest I have ever stayed in. The staff were all friendly and helpful through out our stay. The breakfasts were good and we particularly liked the generous portions of smoked fish and the muffins with creme fraiche and smoked salmon. The only slight let down was the bog standard sliced bread provided for toast and the folder with tourist info in the room was out of date but overall it was a very nice place to stay and I would happily visit again and reccommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

All our team would like to thank you for your note and for your favourable comments on Milford Hall Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again some time in the future to Milford Hall Hotel!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Reception were very friendly and efficient at check-in and gave us all information we might need and answered questions pleasantly too. The room was very comfortable, and had everything we needed. Food was nice and it was the only hotel that offered porridge for breakfast and it was delicious.. As I wasn't feeling great at dinner time my evening meal was brought very promptly to my room. The hotel was very quiet although on a main street close to the city centre. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the not too distant future.

Once again thank you for your lovely comments.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Hotel & Spa 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £77 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing