We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”
Review of Milford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed for one night on 8th Sept. There was a wedding taking place as we arrived but this didn't affect our check in, the staff on reception and the porter were very helpful. We were with our Daughter and Son in law and 11 month old baby. Our rooms were well away from the wedding reception so we never heard any noise. At breakfast the following morning the staff were very attentive and the food was excellent. I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff
you were fantastic.I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the team, and all that you experienced at Milford Hall Hotel. There is no greater reward than reading wonderful comments like yours.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel on Tripadvisor and we very much look forward to welcoming you again when you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    260
    117
    29
    16
See reviews for
103
352
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed on 29th & 30th Aug 2012. We had to walk 100 metres to Milford in the rain after our booking at another hotel was lost. The porter rushed out to meet us and helped with our luggage, the staff were all friendly and helpful. Lunch at the restaurant was exceptional and breakfast was great! The room was well appointed and spacious. Keep up the good work!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your great comments about Milford Hall Hotel and our Team, I was pleased to read how impressed you were with the hotel.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed on sun 9th sept and for £99 for 2 adults we had a lovely afternoon tea on arrival, a delicious 3 course meal and an equally delicious full english breakfast. We found the staff attentive and helpful and our room was clean, modern and very comfortable (loved the cute bear touch!!). The hotel is on a main road though once inside the grounds you wouldn't know. The location is very convenient with a 10 min leisurely stroll into the centre of salisbury and the cathedral, we chose to walk alongside the very pretty river into the centre which is located approx 2mins from the hotel. We will stay here again :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaandDave77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on our Serence Sunday Offer, giving you the opportunity to sample and enjoy your dining experience at Milford Hall Hotel. It is really lovely when we receive comments like yours, of which have now been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too. We look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed one night to attend a family wedding nearby. Saturday 08th September. £99 for 2 adults. There was also another wedding in progress when we arrived. Entering the room we found it smelt damp and musty. We had a view of a brick wall and the walls internally are paper thin and you can hear everything. We were kept awake until 0400 hrs when a party was continuing next door. Definitely over priced for what you get. We left the next morning exhausted. However the staff there are very polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked after viewing the website, we were some what disappointed with the location being on a busy road and the garden being extremely tiny. The corridors and doors were a nightmare, we had a lot of luggage and we spent a lot of time walking back and forwards to the car and opening and closing fire doors. The room was a good size and it was clean and tiny. Avoid the place if there is a wedding booked due to not being able to park your care, the amount of people and the noise. Our room didn't get serviced everyday until late afternoon, due to the staff informing us they were required to do the rooms vacated that day first. It was a little frustrating being out all day with our two year old and at 3pm our room still hadn't been seen to.

Room Tip: Not too close to reception and not too far down the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
I was dissappointed to read that you struggled with your luggage as it is hotel policy for our porter to help with your luggage and a prerequsite for reception staff to ask if you require assistance, if for some reason the porter is already busy.-Please accept my apologise if this did not happen.

Unfortunately the hotel was hosting a particularly large wedding during your stay and being a town centre hotel, we only have approx 50 spaces in our car park. It is however still very rare that staff cannot find a suitable parking space-which hopefully staff did for you.

The large wedding did mean a large amount of guests checking in that day, that needed to get ready for the wedding, this lead to your room being one of the last to be serviced-Please accept my aplologies for this.

I was pleased you enjoyed the size of your room, all our rooms are spacious and housekeeping pride themselves on their cleanliness-So your comments are much appreciated.

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel.

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We read some wonderful reviews of Milford Hall when we were looking for somewhere to stay near Salisbury, and so decided that the £115 room rate seemed reasonable, and booked in. We were surprised upon arriving - this hotel looks more like a Travel Lodge on an industrial estate, than a country hall. The staff on reception were very pleasant and helpful. However, the decor was dated, the corridors were in need of renovation, and there was an unaired, musty smell throughout. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was powerful; though the peeling wall paper and teddy-bear on the bed were off-putting. The breakfast bufet was perfectly nice. So, had we paid £80 for the night, it would have felt acceptable. The price we did pay, and the name of the hotel had just led us to expect something more luxurious and up to date.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your review, sorry you got the wrong immpression when looking at the hotel.
Milford Hall is a Georgian house with a modern extention, we try to ensure people are aware of the surroundings by stating this on our website. The name (Milford Hall) dates back to when the building was the private residence of the Alderman of the city of Salisbury last century.

I am dissappointed you thought our corridors were dated, as these have all been decorated in the past couple of years, following your comments we are looking at all the pictures in the corridors to see if we need to change them.

Our maintainance man has now fixed the small peice of peeling wallpaper, following you bringing this to our attention-Thank You

I was pleased to see you enjoyed breakfast and the staff looked after you well.

Your comments are always welcome and as you can read are used to try to constantly improve our standards.

Many thanks

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is well situated - an easy 5/10 minute walk into the town centre. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor, along quite a few corridors but we got there! The room was quite basic and the wallpaper was a bit dated but it was quite a large room and everything was clean and well-presented. The bed was VERY soft though, although it didn't affect our sleep - what did, was the fact that the room was pretty warm and as we were on the ground floor, we couldn't open the window. We saw the heating/air con system but couldn't get it to work. However, apart from this slight problem the room was comfortable and fine for a night's stay. We couldn't comment on the breakfast as we wanted a bit of a lie in! We had a look at the menu for the evening meal and although the dishes sounded nice, they seemed pretty expensive so we ate elsewhere.
Would stay here again as the location is great, staff great and the rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaguest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to read you will return to the hotel again. Sorry you thought the wallpaper was a bit dated, we try decorate all our rooms individually, coming up with different designs for different rooms, on your next visit we will try to ensure you have a room with a more modern scheme.

Look forward to the next time you visit.

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
872 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
976 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel

Property: Milford Hall Hotel
Address: 206 Castle Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing