We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milford Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WOW”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Popped in to view for a wedding. Didn't have a meeting just required a brochure! Met by the wedding coordinator who bluntly told us she didn't have time to talk, tried to tell her we only required a brochure but couldn't get a word in! Took us through to their ceremony room. Told her we booked the ceremony already but she continued to tell us how it would be set up... Told us to sit down.. Rudely - 'you two sit there!!' Felt like I was about to be told off! Proceeded to show us a huge folder of advertising for dresses, sweet stands, balloons, cars, etc etc.Kept trying to tell her all we wanted was a brochure! After advertising everything but the hotel, showed us the function room, with a quick ''this is the function room and there's the bar ok?'' And that was that! Don't get me wrong it's a lovely hotel, just lacking on customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank lat210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Owner at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Lat210 from London.
Firstly thank you for calling into the Milford Hall in regards to requesting a brochure for your upcoming wedding. I am so sorry that the wedding coordinator firstly did not have time to see you, but then proceeded to give you a quick show round and in her haste gave the impression that she was not listening to you. You will see from reading our tripadvisor reviews, the staff are particularly recommended for their customer service, so I am sorry one particular member of staff gave the wrong impression on this occasion, As you have mentioned in the review "its a lovely hotel" I would love for you to return to the hotel meet the operations manager who would be in charge of service for a wedding such as yours and receive a full tour of the hotel, when I am sure your initial opinion of our customer service would be changed.
If you are able to revisit, please do telephone the hotel on our main number 01722 417411 and ask for the operations manager Michael, who will be more than pleased to look after you.

Many thanks

Simon Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    244
    112
    27
    14
See reviews for
95
338
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The pros- Beautiful old building front, charming to look at from the street. The bar was prettily decorated and the staff we are friendly and delighted to help, which really makes a difference. Room service was efficient.

The cons- My room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, despite big No Smoking signs in it. I tried to air the room but to no avail. The notes in the room says the heating can be adjusted by a dial so you can be "as warm as you like". When it didn't work I called down to reception who told me that actually all the hotel's heating was on a timer so I had to work in a rather chilly room until 5pm. The remote in the room didn't work so the volume of the TV only went up, not down and required some thumping. The breakfast, although fervently served (in fact I don't think I've been asked if I'm ok, if the food's ok, if I need anything so many times during one meal before...) was not very good. My colleague thought there might be cheese added in the scrambled eggs and the coffee was dreadful.

Although a well located hotel equipped with friendly staff who aim to please, the fact I was in a smelly, smoky, chilly room means I would probably not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibertytripS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Libby,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel.

I would also like to thank you for getting back to me to discuss your recent stay with us! - it was good to talk about your pros and cons!!.

Finally I look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Milford Hall hotel for a 2 night break. The room was excellent, with a made in heaven shower that is sure to wake you up, and the hotel was very nice, but what made this such a great experience, was the service from the staff. It was so refreshing to be greeted with a smile, and just the right amount of help. All were professional and friendly. We had a breakfast each morning, which had lots of choice, a buffet help yourself, or order from the menu. The hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring lovely Salisbury, the city centre being just a few minutes walk away. We will definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicohWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review on Milford Hall Hotel. I am pleased you liked the hotel. It is very important to us all that all guests receive the same individual warm welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you once again on another occasion!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location, friendly staff and very clean. The most powerful shower I have ever known. Every detail has been thought about. All the staff were polite, professional and couldn't do enough for us. My husband felt the bed was too soft but this was his only reservation. If you like a hard bed perhaps ask in advance if one is available. We stayed for two nights in order to see music at The Salisbury Arts Centre, which we can also thoroughly recommend. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank for taking the time to review the hotel and for the positive feedback from your stay, your kind words have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was actually thurs to sat & not a weekend break but was very enjoyable. We arrived early , left our car in the car park, told reception & walked into Salisbury for the afternoon. Staff were friendly & attentive , rooms are quitel large & nicely decorated with a good tv , bath & shower. Hotel was lovely & warm as you could set your own heating/ airconditining in the room. Breakfast menu was extensive & food & service was great. We would not hesitate to stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about Milford Hall Hotel and the team. I was glad to read that you liked the hotel and that your stay was a pleasant one.

Your comments have been communicated to the team who, I know greatly appreciate fantastic comments like this.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a birthday treat. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and even though there was a mix up with our room we were upgraded without asking. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and location made the hotel ideal for shopping in Salisbury

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you found the hotel to your liking, and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

What more could you ask for but to be greeted by Peter the concierge to collect our baggage. A nice warm welcome at reception. Receptionist very helpful, just a quick call from your room, all needs easily met. Rooms were clean. Nice warm room which could be controlled to your liking from your room. Wifi easily available. Freshly baked scones for afternoon teas. The cream mmmmm lovely!
New Year’s evening banquet, very professionally executed, they worked well as a team. They even sang Happy Birthday to all who’s birthday it was. The food could not fault, Chef even allowed for my food allergy. Enjoyed the evening’s entertainment. Sitting at allocated tables with other guest made it fun and a good way to meet people.
Following evening visited the hotels fish and meat restaurant. Excellent quality of food, which most is sourced locally. I couldn’t resist but to order all courses. Breakfast a wide variety.
A small walk into the town centre. Not enough time spent in the town, there were so much to see. I will have to visit again.
It has been a long time that I have eaten good quality of food and received efficient quality of service which seamed genuine. Even though we went for the New year celebration the hotel was quiet. Excellent service all round in each departments No doubt I would stay at Milford Hall Salisbury again.

Room Tip: If you are not able bodied then make a point of saying so as there are no lifts to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaArtois63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for writing your great review on Tripadvisor, as you will see many of your fellow guests have done the same thing all to the same conclusion. We are so pleased you had a great New Year Break.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back once again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Hotel and Spa Hotel and Spa 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing