We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by Bar Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just completed a very nice weekend break at this hotel. Excellent experience - nice room, good customer service, excellent outside Patio area, but Oh Dear, when we returned on Sat night for a nightcap at 10:45 we were greeted by a very surly Bar man, who, even though the Bar closed at 11:00, was very reluctant to serve us. Spoilt the weekend a little, but having said that, lovely gardens, nice to be able to park so close to the town, and an excellent choice for breakfast.

(Breakfast room could do with Air Con - very hot and humid!!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HiramHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that the majority of your stay was as it should be but disappointed that one member of the team let the side down on this occasion. A meeting with the Bar Team has since taken place to ensure this does not happen again.

On a final note if you are resident at Milford Hall Hotel you are entitled to drink in the hotel lounge as long as you wish. Our Night Porter provides table service after 11.00pm.

We very much hope to welcome back on another occasion in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards & Best Wishes
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed overnight for a Girlie Birthday weekend 31ST May 2014 but what a disappointment, room was very clean and spacious but the service in the hotel let it down so much. After a lovely walk around the town centre Saturday afternoon headed back to the hotel for a nice glass of chilled wine on the terrace, so we thought, waited at least 15 minutes to be served, no bar staff. When the wine was eventually brought to us it was just ‘plonked’ down on the table, no coasters. Same again for the next glass, no staff and no coasters.

The evening meal, sat at a table that seemed to have legs shorter on one side than the other. The waiter had to ‘go under’ the table twice during our meal to replace the temporary fix to stop the table ROCKING FROM SIDE TO SIDE when they brought our food AND whilst we were eating. Not a pleasant meal or experience really.

THEN BREAKFAST, pointed to a table, not shown, sat for 15 minutes before catching the eye of a waitress waving my hands to ask for coffee, when this eventually turned up we asked if we could have skimmed milk if possible, to be told ‘IT IS’ !! The coffee was awful it left a film around the cup and seemed like it had been made 30 minutes before hand. Decided to ask for poached eggs from the breakfast menu, when these were delivered we helped ourselves to some bits from the buffet. Sat back at our table only for a waiter to appear with two plates of poached eggs, we had been given another tables FRIED eggs which we left, what a waste and how embarrassing. We were not offered fresh eggs.
Overall not what it said on the tin, my advice would be stay at the hotel ROOM ONLY and you probably won’t go wrong?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SAC195530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear SAC195530

Thank you for the review, it is only through reviews we are able to pinpoint our misgivings and improve for future guests.

I was pleased to read you liked your room and the cleanliness of the hotel and would stay with us again for these features. However it was really disappointing to hear of the service you received, I have carried out a review of our service during that period and spoken to the management on duty. You will of read the other reviews on this site and realised that our staff are usually our best asset, but as with all humans, mistakes can be made and it would appear that we certainly did not live up to the large majority of our reviewers opinions on our staff during your stay.

Please accept my apologies for this. Service is very important to us at the Milford Hall, so I would like to be able to apologise in person for our errors on this occasion, As we only have your tripadvisor name, I would be grateful if you could telephone the hotel, so I can apologise in person.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent customer service. Having been slightly disappointed by my previous stay - something most hotels would ignore and forget - I was called by Amanda who not only investigated my comments but offered me a complimentary stay so that I could see what Milford Hall Hotel was really all about.

I had previously commented on the friendly and efficient staff and again this was so. A pleasant reception, a friendly helpful porter and patient (decisions decisions) waiting staff.

Our room was clean and roomy and the bed extremely comfortable. It's a pleasant 5 minute stroll into town where we visited the cathedral and wandered around market square.

That evening we decided to eat at the hotel and the steak and wine were very good. All in all I would now recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibertytripS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor. Your favourable comments have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very conveniently situated, the Milford Hall was an inspired choice!
Charming efficient staff, spotless room - if a little austere - no ipod dock or fridge and an antedeluvian hair dryer! Splendid breakfast, again the service was exceptional, all in all a first class experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srd222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased your returned for a second visit. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we hope to see you again soon for a third visit.

Kind Regards & Best Wishes
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As part of our annual get away with friends we looked at various hotels in the area and were guided by trip advisor reviews and as they gave a very positive feedback we booked up,we were not in anyway disappointed the hotel delivers ,it's facilities (we had an iPod docking station in our room very useful!!)free wifi ,free and ample car parking ,the location was within short walking distance to town centre which is lovely.but for us who have been away for the past 9 years in hotels felt all the staff were the best ever,nothing was too much trouble and very attentive to any need,special thanks Patti at breakfast..thank you again and look forward to seeing you soon

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about Milford Hall Hotel. Your great comments have been passed on to the team, including the lovely Patti!!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards & best Wishes

Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a Masonic Ladies festival. It was the best thing we did as everything else was sourced, sorted and arranged for us. The food was absolutely fabulous, the staff extremely helpful and friendly and organisation amazing. All our guests said they had a great time particularly mentioned the food and staff. I was most indebted to Ali Greenwood who made all the arrangements, made recommendations when we were lost, even sorted things out when we made late requests. I cannot thank all the staff enough would certainly recommend this hotel for any event from a quiet break for two to a total weekend for 50 as we had, as the attention to detail for all guests is excellent.

Room Tip: Stayed in the older part of the hotel, clean very comfortable bed, surprisingly quiet considering it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Best Weekend Ever is praise indeed so thank you form us all! Your great comments have been passed on especially to Ali who prides herself on every last detail when organising any event, so thank you again.
We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards & Best Wishes
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had an overnight stay and booked an executive room that included breakfast. We stayed in room 304 which was in the newer build at the rear of the hotel. What we experienced this hotel was excellent. Room spotless, modern, clean and very comfortable. Staff were lovely and service was efficient. Really good breakfast. Their full English comprised of good quality food and was well presented. I would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that your all round stay was excellent.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards & Best Wishes

Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Hotel & Spa 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing