We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My daughter was married at this hotel yesterday. It's a Georgian building built c.1780, with added structures since then.

It was absolutely wonderful, the hotel thought of everything. We stayed overnight in one of the new rooms, which had aircon, 33 channel TV and a good bath/shower room. Everything was immaculate. The food was superb, with silver service (as opposed to a plated handout), which was a pleasant surprise.

I am NOT employed by this hotel, I'm just anxious for you all to know just how good this place is. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimborne_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

My husband, daughter and I made an overnight trip to Salisbury last week while we were stranded in England because British airspace was closed. This hotel was the best hotel of our entire trip. The room was spaciious and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the room rate, and was cooked to order. We took the train from Gatwick to Salisbury, and the hotel was about a fifteen minute walk from the train station. But the walk was well worth it! We would gladly stay in this hotel again, and we wish there were more hotels like it in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekv0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The hotel got off to a very good start when 2 of the reception staff armed with a map & telephone guided us in when we took a wrong turn & found ourselves lost in a spiralling one way system around Salisbury!

The room was lovely & clean, very well presented. the bed was a little soft but that's just my preference.

The breakfast was very good, I am vegetarian but still found I could have an ample cooked breakfast from the options available, they seemed to only bring out small amounts of cooked food & replace them regularly rather than have a large amount of food sitting in the hot-boxes. There was also a good choice of with a choice of yoghurt, fruit & cereal.

We ate our evening meal from the room service menu, which again was very good, although if you have a starter, eat it quickly as they don't cover the rest of the food, so it's not as warm as it could be.

It's a really good base to explore from, with Salibury Cathedral a short walk away & Old Sarum & Stonehenge a few minutes in the car.

I loved the stay & would definitely go back again. .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed on Easter Monday for a short city break on a fab special. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was newly decorated and quiet and the curtains were very dark which was essential to try and get our baby to sleep in the day! Dinner was lovely and breakfast was quite extensive. Very quick walk to the centre of town even with a buggy. Very good value for money and excellent for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTown78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Only spent one night as they were full, wished we could have stayed longer. We staying in the new wing and it's perfect for the USA visitor, exactly what you would expect to find in better hotels. Our only experience of the older section was the bar area, though the rest of the house looked very well maintained. The restaurant is open for evening meals and we made a reservation. We were having drinks in the bar/lounge area when they brought us the menus and then a tray with the meat selections for the evening. When our table was ready we were escorted into the restaurant and had a really enjoyable meal. The wait staff were attentive, efficient and frienldy. Breakfast was the same the following morning, Everyone in the hotel were pleasant and helpful and friendly and that goes a long way in making any stay enjoyable. Free internet is available for all residents on a computer tucked away in a quiet corner of the public area, this was perfect for catching up on our emails etc and keeping in touch with family. Just a 5 minute walk into town it's a perfect location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warkslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My husband and I had an overnight stay at this hotel to take in a charity comedy gig that was being staged on site. We were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful receptionist who explained the layout of the hotel and the services and amenities. We had paid for one of the recently completed executive bedrooms and I also paid an extra £30 for the luxury of a daily newspaper, a bowl of fruit and a chilled bottle of Champagne in our room on arrival.
This turned out to be the only negative aspect of a perfectly pleasant stay. The newspaper never materialised, the fruit was boring and looked a little 'tired' and the Champagne was actually a very mediocre Prossecco! I certainly would not recommend adding this package to your stay.
However the room was lovely, airy and spacious, simply but comfortably furnished. The bathroom had a full size bath and a power shower and there were a fine selection of toiletries for our use. There were plentiful fluffy white towels but oddly only one bath robe, not that this was an issue for us.
The bed was made up with crisp white linen and was one of the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel.
We ate in Salisbury so did not take advantage of the on site restaurant, which is used by residents as well the general public, it did look busy and popular. We had breakfast the next morning which was a very pleasant experience with excellent service from the waitress. The choice was vast with fruit selctions, cereals, yogurts, croisants/toast etc in addition to full English option which my husband enjoyed. I chose smoked salmon with creme fraiche on English muffins which was delicious.
We would certainly return to the hotel again because of the excellent service and for it's close proximity to the centre of Salisbury (5 min walk).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Just got back from a 3 night break.
Booked a room in the old house itself. Room was very clean, large, large HD television, had a bath and power shower. The food was excellent, pre-booked the dinner at a discount price. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
There is parking and a 5-7 minute walk takes you to the heart of Salisbury.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22oap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Hotel & Spa 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £76 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing