We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could spend more time there...”
Review of Milford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wish I could spend more time there...”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Located in walking distance from market square and the cathedral, this is a peacful, well-maintained country hotel up to satisfaction of most if not all travellers. Rooms are large and furnished/decorated up to 5-star standards. Not all room overlook beautiful view, but in a 2-story hotel such as this one, it would be unfair to expect such things in the first place. Restaurant serves good food - but breakfast leaves some room for improvement, especially if you are an international traveller not very accustomed to British countryside ingredients. And hotel staff -- all very helpful with wonderful attitude. Can recommend this hotel with no reservation whatsoever....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    259
    116
    29
    16
See reviews for
102
350
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have just returned from a weekend at the Milford Hall. Having asked for a quiet room when we booked we were allocated room 308 which was exactly that. We were at the end of the corridor in the new annex. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was probably one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on. There were ample supplies of bathroom bits and pieces and a hair dryer and all the usual teas and coffee available on the night tray; including ground coffee and a caffetiere. We were attending our friends wedding and having seen some of the reviews I was approaching the trip with some trepidation - which once we arrived I could see some reports were quite unfounded. My husband ate in the restaurant on Friday evening and had nothing but good reports on the food and the service. The wedding meal was of a good standard with an excellent selection of fresh vegetables. The buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold items. The food on the hot selection was well cooked and served hot. My only adverse comment would be that the towels in the bathroom are looking tired and could do with replacing and maybe change the restaurant staff uniforms, they are a little dated. I would like to congratulate the manager for running such a well organised hotel, during the course of the wedding I saw various resetting of the function room which was carried out efficiently. We finally went to bed at 2am and as we passed the function room we put our head round the door; the staff were as cheerful in wishing us good night as they were when we saw them at breakfast this morning. A happy bunch of staff who are polite and efficient. I would like to thank Dean for his tollerance of our wind ups - what a star. Oh and the coffee is fine. Thank you all at the Milford Hall Hotel for giving our friends a wonderful wedding day which I know we will all remember for a long time to come.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandGBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We booked an 8 night stay months in advance but found ourselves allocated room 302. This and room 303 are either side of a boiler and are therefore very warm indeed. The somewhat noisy air-con occupies a large portion of a wall right alongside the bed, but blows the necessarily cold air straight across whoever draws the short straw by having to lie right next to it. The other sleeper is treated to the acceptably cooler air once the heat begins to dissipate. And no, unless you ask at reception, you can't have the air con on whilst you're out, and nor can you personally adjust it to the temperature of choice. You can switch it off at the mains though, and sweat through the quiet of the night.

The other remarkable feature of 302/3 is the presence of only a small opaque window from which the room is illuminated by whatever light can prise its way in between it and the wall of the neighbouring house a few feet away. It's opaque because if it wasn't the occupant of next-door's bedroom has a full view of your activities. The hotel has the very greenest wattage for its lights and thus the room seems to be in perpetual twilight, unless the TV standby light is on. The brilliance of its blue light would doubtless be of great interest to anyone indulging in the quaint art of "rendition". Anyone over 5'6" tall is able to switch the TV off at the mains though, and thereby kill the light to assist the possibility of sleep, by being able to reach behind it without the need to stand on anything.

To contrast the heat of these rooms the breakfast from the buffet is consistently available at only a tepid temperature, which is a shame because the constituent parts are indeed tasty. We particularly recommend the fish on offer at no extra charge, which is served tasty and hot. Hot, not tepid or cold, plates for customers may marginally have prolonged whatever heat is in the buffet food.

Salisbury city centre is only a 5-10 minute stroll away, right past the lovely George and Dragon pub, to which full tribute is paid in a seperate review.

We didn't bring our observations to the attention of the management at the time because every room we were able to see was similarly facilitated, other hotels in the city were full, and we were after all on holiday - trying to relax.

Best part a grand paid - not very good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

After a 6 hour drive I arrived to find no parking spaces as there was a function going on (I had to drive round to an insecure temporary parking area. I asked for a quiet room and on the first night it was bliss. Unfortunately the second night was blighted by people toing and froing and banging doors - there had been a wedding function I believe. Room service was excellent. I was forgotten at breakfast and had to ask for my coffee 3 times and the fried breakfast was poor as it was self-service from a buffet area and decidedly limp. I must commend the staff for the poliiteness though.
It's a useful hotel with nice rooms- 10 mins walk from the town and the parking is good when there are no functions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidelinedWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASHINGTON
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

what can i say stayed for 1 night when we visted friends the checkin was very good
the staff were first class
the room if you wanted to be picky needed up dating but it was very clean & comftable
the breakfast food and service could not fault it
we would stay here agian no problem
thanks milford hall makes a great change to get frist class service in all areas

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLY3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The hotel is pretty with parking. It's within walking distance of Salisbury. When we arrived there was a wedding and people dressed in Jane Austen costumes. Rooms were clean and comfortable and we were on the ground floor, which was convenient and quiet. Breakfast was good, but not included.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, VA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

More of a motel than a hotel, Milford Hall is conveniently located a few-minutes walk from the center of Salisbury and the Salisbury Cathedral. Rooms are good sized, and free wi-fi is provided. Bed was a bit soft for our taste, but the room was otherwise fine for a one-night stay. Overall, okay but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xalbguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel

Property: Milford Hall Hotel
Address: 206 Castle Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing