We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Salisbury”
Review of Taylors Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taylors Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location within walking distance of the city and railway station and the bus stops to and from the city centre were right outside the front door. The owners were very helpful with advice on things to see and do in Salisbury. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Steve and Kay went out of their way to give us and early breakfast when we had an early start. The only negative for us was no off street parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for the very nice review. We are always happy when our guests are happy. The bus stop is a great boon for our guests and we also have our lovely walk along the river.
We can park you off the road if you wish - not sure why we didn't on this occasion, perhaps another guest was there?
Thanks, Steve & Kay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Taylors Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We needed a not-too-expensive place in Salisbury for two couples for one night and Taylor's filled the bill perfectly. The owners are friendly and accommodating (made arrangements for us to get into our rooms early, even though they were away at the time), rooms are clean and comfortable, the included breakfast was cooked to order, and delicious. It's far enough outside the center of Salisbury that it would be a long walk (uphill coming back), but it's a short drive and there's plenty of public parking in town. One advantage of the location is that it's on the road to Stonehenge, which is just 8 miles away. One negative: The bathrooms are small and the bathroom sink was VERY small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobG17070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very convenient for Stonehenge - the visitors centre is on the same road as us!
Breakfast is fresh and to order as you say - come and see us again next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Rooms well appointed. Owners very friendly and cheerful. Breakfast was comprehensive (!) and nicely cooked. About a 20 min walk or short bus ride into the city centre. No car park but easy on-street parking. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnakeyLancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We do pride ourselves on our freshly cooked and locally sourced breakfasts, so it's nice you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Helen and I stayed at Taylor's Guesthouse recently for the Bank Holiday weekend in May. Steve and Kay were friendly, welcoming and excellent hosts, and sorted us out with our room and everything else very quickly. They offered excellent advice and recommendations for good places to eat, things to see and routes to walk into town, as well as info on the local bus timetables and things like that. The room was spotless, and regularly replenished with bottled water, a range of interesting teabags, and homemade cookies which we both really enjoyed. Breakfast was served with a smile, and again good conversation! The range of breakfast menu was excellent, and a special request for porridge (fuel for a half marathon) was met with no problems at all! The full English breakfast had all the necessary constituents, but was cooked healthily and was just the right amount of food!

All in all, a lovely place, with lovely hosts, in a very convenient location for transport, parking, and getting into and also away from Salisbury promptly in the morning. Would recommend, and would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward_J87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Well done with your half marathon. Thanks for staying with us and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Many thanks to Kay and Steve. It was very relaxing. Accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable, breakfast lovely. 20min walk into town or a bus at the front door. Would recommend unreservedly. The "dotty" cookies in the room each day were a lovely touch!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed Kay's cookies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We ( me and my husband ) stayed at Taylors Guesthouse for three nights, and surely we will remember the house forever.
Firstly, the room was spotlessly clean, comfortable with TV, lots of storage space and tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities . The bed was inviting, really comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was spotless with everything necessary ( just a bathmat under the feet would have made it perfect, but again that hardly mattered! )

Secondly, the breakfast was delicious and healthy with lots of choices from cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, fruit juice, eggs, breads, jam, butter, mushrooms, fish, meat and what not!

Thirdly, the location is also very good. It is a 10-15 minute's walk to the city centre. A bus stop is right outside the house.

The last but not the least, Kay and Steve made our stay really memorable with their personal touches. They supplied us with lots of local information and maps. Every day we found chocolates and cookies and tea/coffee making ingredients refilled in our room. Of course we will cherish our little chat we had every morning at breakfast time! Thanks for making our stay comfortable and great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PayalAni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you and very interesting gain lots of new knowledge during our conversations. We are lucky to meet so many nice people from near and far.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

When we entered the guesthouse, there was a plaque outside saying: "May this house to every guest, be a place of peace and rest" - and how true it was! It all started with the warm welcome from Kay herself, along with a high level guide to the surroundings and transportations. We stayed for 3 nights and all three were wonderful. The rooms were neat and dustless to the point of perfection. Rooms were supplied with adequate tea and coffee ingredients along with tasty cookies. The bedding was really cosy and clean. Every morning was made wonderful with the delicious breakfast, which I could eat forever, if my stomach had not been full. Every little question was answered by Steve and Kay in extreme detail which made our trip hassle free, we came to know the area like a local person.
Overall, the experience was wonderful! We went as a guest and left our hosts as friends. What more can one want?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anindya_sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Your review is very kind and we thank you for that. We are lucky that we are small and so have the time to greet everyone as an individual. Yes the cookies are hard to resist, Kay seems to have perfected them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 58 in Salisbury
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Guesthouse

Address: 304 Devizes Road, Salisbury SP2 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £85 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kay and Steve Taylor welcome you to their newly refurbished bed & breakfast. We are situated just twenty minutes walk from the center of the medieval city of Salisbury. Visit the 1000 year old Salisbury Cathedral or investigate the mysterious Stonehenge. Enjoy a wealth of fine restaurants or relax in pubs that have been serving fine English ale for several 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taylors Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing