We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should visit if you are going to Stonehenge”
Review of Old Sarum

Old Sarum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$184.62*
and up
Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London
Ranked #5 of 74 things to do in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Should visit if you are going to Stonehenge”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

There are lots of brilliant events on here during the summer but as a place in its own right it is interesting too. The original cathedral stood here, the ruins of the castle are beautifully explained and you can relax in the large open space in the middle and watch gliders and private planes, including vintage ones fly overhead.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SinghIsKingOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    465
    145
    40
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old Sarum on a sunny day divine”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I took the bus from Salisbury -- it's only about five minutes, then walked back through the fields and city -- it took about 45 mins.

The staff were very friendly and the views spectacular. It's a ruin, but possible to cover a lot of terrain compared to some.

There is a small gift shop, which also sells drinks and ice cream.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Leaving our car parked in the city we had a day exploring Salisbury and surrounds. Caught a local bus out to Old Sarum and walked up to the site. Absolutely magnificent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarmodyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

You have to go for the wonderful views of Salisbury Cathedral and places to chill out, it can be very windy so take a hat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our B&B was just down the hill from here (Avonlea House) and we walked here our first night in Salisbury. It was after the inner area had closed and we had the place all to ourselves - lovely! the sun was shining - you could see the Salisbury Cathedral spire and just drink in the sights as we walked all around - great!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Sarum also viewed

 
Wilton, Salisbury
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Old Sarum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing