We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We ended up in this hotel after our booking was cancelled by another one for hazardous reasons.

But we did not regret it and found this hotel perfect for us! The tenants are lovely, very accommodating and warm. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is everything one could need for a short stay.

The tenants cooked an amazing (homemade) breakfast (with small portion for kids).

Definitely a good place to stay in Salisbury for a couple of days.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sébastien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was very lucky to come across the Old House when my husband was involved in an accident whilst we were on holiday.

My husband was taken to Salisbury hospital and after calling a number of hotels that were all fully booked, I managed to book a room for myself and my two children at the Old House.

I had planned to stay for a night or two, before moving somwhere closer to the hospital. However, we ended up staying for nearly a month!

Mr and Mrs M made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The rooms were all newly decorated and spotlessly clean. The beds were amazingly comfortable and both of my children slept longer than they had ever done before!

The garden is lovely and peaceful and the perfect place for relaxing. My kids loved running around pointing out unusual objects!

I can't wait to take my husband to see where we stayed as soon as he is well enough. I have nothing but praise for this place and am very grateful to Mr and Mrs Maidment for making us feel at ease during a very stressful time for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Effalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

great place, clean, spacious, new bathroom, walking distance into town and the cathedral, lovely friendly hostess. beautifully furnished sitting room, large dining room with excellent English breakfast. tea, coffee and cookies in the room. highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old house for one night. Very clean. New bathrooms. Beautiful garden. Very, very pleasant owners (Mrs. M). Parking available. Generous selection of breakfast. 20 minutes from stone henge. Convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healthyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Having been let down at the last minute by The Cricketfield House Hotel nearby whose admin messed up my booking, managed to get two rooms for two nights here at short notice. Very welcoming, spotless rooms, excellent breakfast and off street car parking. Okay, the fittings and decor are not the most modern if that matters to you, but it's great value, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfi5her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We only can say: thank You Hillary for all You`ve done for us: the fabulous breakfast, the clean room, all Your care and kindness. The center of Salisbury can be reached in about 15 minutes and there is a comfortable parkingplace infront of the house.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This bed and breakfast is the best we've stayed in for a very long time.

Mrs M was very accommodating welcoming us late into her beautiful period home. The decorations are tastefully chosen and really add to the atmosphere. However there's nothing dated about the facilities. Our bedroom was well lit, with side lights too for a softer feel. The en suite had a large shower and was spotless and the beds were very comfortable.

We chose our breakfast in advance and one enjoyed a delicious full English as the other tucked into an array of fruit and cereal.

Although there are no advertised facilities for children, our little one was made very much at home (we provided a high chair and cot) and we weren't made to feel guilty about a less than tidy breakfast eater.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgt_in_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 59 in Salisbury
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 59 in Salisbury
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 161 Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 7JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House is full of character with traditional old beams and brick walls dating back to the 16th century. It is gracefully furnished to provide excellent accommodation on both ground and first floor levels. All the spacious bedrooms have en-suite facilities. There is a large comfortable residents lounge and a large garden which stretches to the rear.After a restful night in this Family managed haven you can start the day with a hearty breakfast in our cottage style dining room. All food is freshly prepared and home -cooked. Relax in our large residents lounge after an exciting day exploring the Wiltshire countryside or sit in the attractive garden.Its an easy walk to the city centre, and close to the Railway Station with a direct line into London, Waterloo. Only 1/2 hour to Stonehenge and The New Forest. Wilton House and Salisbury Cathedral are close by. The wonderful city of Bath, Historic Portsmouth and relaxing Bournemouth are all within easy travelling distance. Free car parking is provided, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing