We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were looking for somewhere quiet, but relatively central, for a peaceful night's sleep, with a good hearty breakfast to follow, and this beautifully run Guest House (which we stumbled upon by a chance recommendation from another local hotelier who was full) surpassed all our expectations.
The welcome was warm and friendly; we were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped through the door and the attention to detail throughout our stay was lovely.
We had a great night's sleep in a lovely comfortable bed and the room and en suite were scrupulously clean and well presented. A private little courtyard provided a welcome place to sit out and my husband's needs as a smoker were discreetly and thoughtfully provided for in this outside space.

Fantastic power shower in en suite and lovely little touches in bathroom provisions.

The breakfast was second to none; we were beginning to despair of hotel/guest house breakfasts, but this one outstripped them all and restored our faith, served in a lovely dining room. Afterwards we were able to take a stroll through the beautiful garden which I can imagine will be a particularly fantastic place for summertime visitors to relax.

We came away feeling we have found a hidden gem and look forward to staying here again on our regular visits to Salisbury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

A very good place too stay and very nice food and very friendly people. They made you very welcome. Excellant location for the town and easy reach to all the attractions like stonehenge,
A must is a walk by the river stoure

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabbits2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We ended up in this hotel after our booking was cancelled by another one for hazardous reasons.

But we did not regret it and found this hotel perfect for us! The tenants are lovely, very accommodating and warm. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is everything one could need for a short stay.

The tenants cooked an amazing (homemade) breakfast (with small portion for kids).

Definitely a good place to stay in Salisbury for a couple of days.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sébastien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was very lucky to come across the Old House when my husband was involved in an accident whilst we were on holiday.

My husband was taken to Salisbury hospital and after calling a number of hotels that were all fully booked, I managed to book a room for myself and my two children at the Old House.

I had planned to stay for a night or two, before moving somwhere closer to the hospital. However, we ended up staying for nearly a month!

Mr and Mrs M made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The rooms were all newly decorated and spotlessly clean. The beds were amazingly comfortable and both of my children slept longer than they had ever done before!

The garden is lovely and peaceful and the perfect place for relaxing. My kids loved running around pointing out unusual objects!

I can't wait to take my husband to see where we stayed as soon as he is well enough. I have nothing but praise for this place and am very grateful to Mr and Mrs Maidment for making us feel at ease during a very stressful time for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Effalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

great place, clean, spacious, new bathroom, walking distance into town and the cathedral, lovely friendly hostess. beautifully furnished sitting room, large dining room with excellent English breakfast. tea, coffee and cookies in the room. highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old house for one night. Very clean. New bathrooms. Beautiful garden. Very, very pleasant owners (Mrs. M). Parking available. Generous selection of breakfast. 20 minutes from stone henge. Convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healthyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Having been let down at the last minute by The Cricketfield House Hotel nearby whose admin messed up my booking, managed to get two rooms for two nights here at short notice. Very welcoming, spotless rooms, excellent breakfast and off street car parking. Okay, the fittings and decor are not the most modern if that matters to you, but it's great value, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfi5her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 161 Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 7JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House is full of character with traditional old beams and brick walls dating back to the 16th century. It is gracefully furnished to provide excellent accommodation on both ground and first floor levels. All the spacious bedrooms have en-suite facilities. There is a large comfortable residents lounge and a large garden which stretches to the rear.After a restful night in this Family managed haven you can start the day with a hearty breakfast in our cottage style dining room. All food is freshly prepared and home -cooked. Relax in our large residents lounge after an exciting day exploring the Wiltshire countryside or sit in the attractive garden.Its an easy walk to the city centre, and close to the Railway Station with a direct line into London, Waterloo. Only 1/2 hour to Stonehenge and The New Forest. Wilton House and Salisbury Cathedral are close by. The wonderful city of Bath, Historic Portsmouth and relaxing Bournemouth are all within easy travelling distance. Free car parking is provided, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing