We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, quirky and cool!”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #6 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Had a lovely 1 night stay in this quirky Tudor building-wonky stairs, low beams, slanted floors all added to the experience. Our room had been decorated in a modern, relaxing style with a huge tv and ipod docking station, a very sheek bathroom with luxury toiletries too. The free wine was a nice touch. Wondered around looking for a restaurant and ended up back at the hotel in the steak house. We wished we had stayed there from the start as the food was delicious (a little slow but it was a busy Friday night and the staff were attentive). Steaks cooked just how you like and other options too. The whole pub and restaurant continues the cow theme with cow hide chairs, pictures etc, The waiting staff were confident and friendly, offering advice on menu choices and checking up on us. We had a really lovely stay and would definitely go again although we would ask for a different room because they are all decorated in different styles! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: ask about decorative styles of rooms-not all are shown on website which is a shame
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A good bed in a clean room with a proper shower is enough for me. We stayed at The Lazy Cow Salisbury for two nights in August. I think we had the smallest sized room but it was more than enough for us. The bed was really comfortable and the room was like a quirky log cabin. The shower was brilliant! In addition they have chosen to give some really important extras like nice toiletries (White Company), a selection of teas and coffee, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water (a really nice touch) and bathrobes. The staff are really friendly and the breakfast excellent. They have decorated the place well and retained some of te building's old character. Salisbury is a great place for a weekend away. The Lazy Cow has a great location next to the cathedral. They also have an arrangement for parking with the hotel next door. We parked for free there. Highly recommend The Lazy Cow as a place to stay where you feel welcomed and want a bit of good value luxury.

Room Tip: The smallest is still good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at The Lazy Cow as a treat to ourselves having not been away since our honeymoon last year, we got a deal with KGB and I’m not sure whether this impacted on the room we were given but that’s what it felt like. We had been looking forward to staying at TLC; I had poured over their website and was very excited at the prospect of staying at what looked like such a nice hotel. I emailed the hotel the week before to confirm our booking and check what the check in time was, I was told that check in was at 3pm but the earlier we got there the better room we got. We arrived at TLC at just gone 12pm and were shown to room 10, a Moo Room, I’m assuming that you have to get to the hotel at the crack of dawn to get one of the better rooms.

The inside of our room was lovely with lots of room around the bed, there was a clock/iPod dock, large TV, cow horn lamps and a coffee maker with lots of different teas and coffees. We were also left a bottle of wine and bottle of water which were nice touches. The room details online said that there would be chocolates in the room but we didn’t have any, which really isn’t a big deal but I thought it worth mentioning in this review. Our room had a shower rather than a Jacuzzi bath, I’m not sure what I was expecting of a Monsoon shower but our shower was just a regular shower with a larger head than normal. The White Company toiletries were a nice touch. The swag bag wasn’t what I was expecting; it’s basically just a reusable shopping bag. Our TV only seemed to have Freeview on it, whether it was my husband and I who were unable to find the Sky TV and HD movie channels or if our room didn’t have that I don’t know. Again, not a big deal.
What really, really disappointed me about our stay is the location of our room. Room 10 overlooks the back of the hotel and is above the kitchen. It’s the area where restaurant staff went for their breaks so we often had crowds of people outside our room smoking and talking loudly. I felt very uncomfortable about this so we kept the curtains and blinds shut most of the time we were there. The fire escape stairs were right outside one of the bedroom windows and at one point when I was coming out of the bathroom (which faced the window) a member of staff walked up the stairs, cue me closing the blinds and keeping them closed for the remainder of our stay. In addition to staff spending their breaks outside our bedroom window we also had a lovely view of the hotel bins as well as empty beer kegs and oil barrels. We also had constant humming from the kitchen fan right outside our window, when we were in our room we had to put the TV on just to block out the noise and on the first night I found it very hard to get to sleep due to a combination of staff outside (at gone 11pm) and the fan droning on. If we had paid full price for our trip to the TLC I would have been incredibly upset. I would advise people to ask not to be put in room 10 when booking.

The bathroom was small but adequate for us, the only negative aspect of it was that at least one of the floor tiles was loose, the toilet seat was cracked as well as the tiles in the shower. Considering TLC has only been open since July this seems odd.
On our first night we decided to eat in TLC restaurant, we were tucked away in a quiet window seat which allowed us to people watch. We decided against a starter and went straight for the main course; I had the Josper Fried Chicken with BBQ sauce which was wonderful. The chicken was perfectly cooked and the sauce was just right. It came with a pout of chips but no veg unless I wanted to pay £2.75 for one of the sides. My husband decided to order the 8oz sirloin; he had wanted a larger steak (as an American he’s used to larger steaks than 8oz) but he baulked at the prices. £17.50 for a small steak and just fries is excessive. I managed to find room to have a desert at the end of our meal, I ordered the pavlova from the specials menu. After a 20-25 minute wait it finally came, I’m not sure why it took so long and no explanation was given by the waitress. For a glass of wine, two cokes, two mains and one desert our bill was £42.50.
All in all our trip to Salisbury was a good one but we felt very let down by the location of our room, we had to put up with loud staff, constant droning of the kitchen fan and a door near our bedroom that only ever slammed shut. I probably would stay at TLC again but I would ask for a quieter room as I would have felt very hard done by had I paid the upwards of £260 they want for a two night stay (a price which apparently doesn’t include breakfast, shockingly).

The Good:
Location
Interior of the room

The Bad:
Outside noise
Inside noise from the door in the corridor slamming each time someone went through it (especially the maids first thing in the morning – the linen closet was next to our room)
TLC doesn’t have its own car park, the Mecure next door lets guests at TLC use their car park for £10 a night. This isn’t advertised on TLC’s website.
No complimentary breakfast, not sure if this is because we booked through KGB but their website states “And wake up refreshed to an American style breakfast complimentary when you book any room with us.”

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get put in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ch3ryl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank paulagayefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T14WSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
791 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing