We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even better the second time round!”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #6 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I visited the pub a while ago with family and had a wonderful time, So i decided to take my partner his for his birthday, The experience was even better than before! The staff were so friendly and professional, and food was out of this world. The chefs seem to have hit the nail on the head! We were greeted at the bar by a gentleman called Alex who was very knowlegable and seemed to be loving his job as did all the staff.

We also stayed in the hotel for an extra special evening, omg the rooms are amazing, we stayed in the black and gold room, again the hotel staff could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable.

Well done guys, hopefuly will be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

First impressions were good, a cosy and trendy gastropub esque steakhouse with a very inviting menu. Our table was a good size and comfortable and the drinks menu and wine was reasonable.

However following our deeply deeply disappointing steaks I am not impressed by the premise of Lazy Cow. This place claims to be the best in Wiltshire??! Wiltshire may be slightly in the sticks but even so, I think this is a bit of a tall order!

The menu and blurb went into great detail on the key to cooking a great steak, with helpful diagrams of a cow showing where the cuts had come from. We also were explicitly presented with 6 different grilling options, from Blue to Well-Done. I don't think the chef could spell his own face! Our "Blue" cut was burnt, tough and most decidedly NOT rare.

I don't have a problem with a restaurant being expensive if it can live up to the expectation but it's just an insult when you're presented with gray gristle. Especially when you've had to remortgage your house.

Now we're English so hate to make a fuss eating out, and we have no beef with the waitress. Naturally we sent the steak back asking for a proper rare one. The poor girl. The chef probably told her to get stuffed and tell us we'll "eat what we're given". Which is exactly what she did.

I think the chef should be sent to boot camp in France.

This was a 100 pound mis-steak.

Don't go!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MazzyStarJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

From arrival to checkout the staff were amazing so friendly and advised on the best places to visit during our stay at the hotel. We enjoyed our dinner the first night in the bar area the atmosphere seemed relaxed and welcoming the steak was amazing, followed for dessert by an espresso martini to finish the night off, the food was so good we ate in the restaurant the following evening. We stayed in one of the three themed rooms the black and gold room really luxurious and certainly romantic with great room facilities and all the mod cons.
Would highly recommend a stay at the hotel and special thanks to all the staff as they were fantastic!

Room Tip: Black and gold rooms fantastic for luxurious stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank belle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Booked last minute deal and we were really impressed with the wonderful chic room, and the warm welcome we received from all the staff.The room had lovely touches of luxury, crisp white egyptian linen, big white fluffy towels, decent coffee machine, free bottle of wine and many other nice touches as well as a the unique, splendid decor and a most comfortable bed, in this quaint, historic building. We enjoyed a lovely meal, as the B&B is also a very nice steak and ale restaurant. The meal was a bit costly but we had a lovely evening. I was worried that the room may be noisy or have a lingering smell due to the restaurant but that was just not the case, the room was nice and quiet and smelt lovely and the bed was so comfy sleep was no problem at all.

Room Tip: Our room was room 8 and was lovelly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GillsScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Had a lovely 1 night stay in this quirky Tudor building-wonky stairs, low beams, slanted floors all added to the experience. Our room had been decorated in a modern, relaxing style with a huge tv and ipod docking station, a very sheek bathroom with luxury toiletries too. The free wine was a nice touch. Wondered around looking for a restaurant and ended up back at the hotel in the steak house. We wished we had stayed there from the start as the food was delicious (a little slow but it was a busy Friday night and the staff were attentive). Steaks cooked just how you like and other options too. The whole pub and restaurant continues the cow theme with cow hide chairs, pictures etc, The waiting staff were confident and friendly, offering advice on menu choices and checking up on us. We had a really lovely stay and would definitely go again although we would ask for a different room because they are all decorated in different styles! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: ask about decorative styles of rooms-not all are shown on website which is a shame
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A good bed in a clean room with a proper shower is enough for me. We stayed at The Lazy Cow Salisbury for two nights in August. I think we had the smallest sized room but it was more than enough for us. The bed was really comfortable and the room was like a quirky log cabin. The shower was brilliant! In addition they have chosen to give some really important extras like nice toiletries (White Company), a selection of teas and coffee, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water (a really nice touch) and bathrobes. The staff are really friendly and the breakfast excellent. They have decorated the place well and retained some of te building's old character. Salisbury is a great place for a weekend away. The Lazy Cow has a great location next to the cathedral. They also have an arrangement for parking with the hotel next door. We parked for free there. Highly recommend The Lazy Cow as a place to stay where you feel welcomed and want a bit of good value luxury.

Room Tip: The smallest is still good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
791 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing