We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable stay with gorgeous food”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #6 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on the way from Devon to Kent on a very rainy night. Was great to find a beautiful old pub that has been sympathetically renovated. Our room was cosy and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was fantastic! Must admit we got a very good rate through Laterooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baharini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Work meal, five people, Thursday night. Great food, lovely steak etc but service was slow given that the restaurant was probably half full at most. The drinks service from the table was very slow even for a round of standard drinks never mind the cocktails! Can't fault the food but they were a couple of staff short of decent service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Damo_M_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Arrived and sat around no greeting, no service. Food was disappointing - dry, tasteless, burnt burgers and less than adequate service. £9.00 for a drab cheeseboard..... Do yourself a favour stay clear and look at other options in Salisbury

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My Husband and I were staying nearby in a modern(ish) hotel but also really like old style traditional pubs. We first tried to get in here on the Saturday night for dinner but they were fully booked with a 2 hour wait if we wanted to eat. The guy who spoke to us was very pleasant and apologetic. We went for Sunday lunch instead and the dining area was very busy with large family groups. I took this to be a positive sign. The menu was somewhat bemusing. The main menu which is outside the pub is different to the menu we were handed, I assumed this was as it was a sunday lunch time. There was no vegetarian starter, but there was a vegetarian main dish. I found this very peculiar, surely if you are likely to order a veggie main you would want a veggie starter too. We only wanted a main so it wasn't a major problem, but they really need to address this as they are excluding vegetarian diners from having a starter. The atmosphere in the pub was very nice and buzzy and cosy, The food was very delicious although there was quite a long wait. It was worth it as it was very tasty. What did let things down was that the waitress who took drinks orders brought my Husband something different to what he ordered, he asked for fosters shandy and she brought Stella.
I have only given this an average rating, the food was lovely, but they need to offer one more veggie main, and a starter. I know their focus is on meat, but in this day and age offering 2 choices for a vegetarian is not asking too much at all. The one main I had was very creamy which I like but not all vegetarians eat cream. All in all it was a good meal, and the staff were polite and the pub cosy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We chose the Lazy Cow because of the location, the fact that it looked different and the cost, which was considerably lower than other options local to it. It exceeded expectations on all points. The room was very individual, beamed and with the most comfortable bed we've ever had in a hotel. Cleanliness was good and facilities met all our needs - liked the coffee machine and tea pot. The stairs to room we stayed in were a most enjoyable ride! really querky as others have said. We were facing the front and had no problem with noise at all. Would, and have, highly recommended to friends and will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ustwo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our return trip to the Lazy Cow was even better than the first one from a year ago. The staff were incredibly attentive, the setting continues to be amazing and the food was as good as ever. I have read many of the reviews and understand how it can be quite noisy at times but we expected that in the centre of a city. Ok, I agree that they could have better sound proofing on the windows but overall the quality of the room, bed, sheets and lighting made up for it and we slept well. Any small mistakes at dinner (missing onion rings) were rectified quickly and compensated for. Excellent weekend, I would recommend it completely. Just take ear plugs for some rooms.........

Room Tip: Room 15 was good as it had a living room and bedroom which made it easy to get away from any noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable and relaxing, perfect location if your planning on looking round the cathedral.
We were in the annexe, the room was clean and inviting as soon as you opened the door, and having an iPhone docking station was a relief as we had forgotten our charger.
The little things do make a difference.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Markw1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
333 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £77 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing