We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Bull!!!”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #6 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Year Bull!!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Here is a reason not to go to the Lazy Cow for New Year. We dressed up specially for the occasion and spent a lot of money on our outfits, only to find that we were one of two parties that had come dressed for the occasion. None of the staff were dressed in Ball attire and there were ordinary people (some in Jeans and T Shirts) sitting around having a perfectly ordinary meal. We paid £50 a head for a party that wasn't there. Although advertised on their flyer, there was no function room, no VIP booths and certainly no atmosphere. There was an ok band on until around 11pm and after that, we had the pleasure of listening to some background music. Our New Year started with a handful of people standing around watching Gary Barlow on the TV, instead of party revellers dressed to impress. We even had to ask for the background music to be turned up, so we could at least have a little atmosphere. There was no organisation and a lot of the staff were clearly not bothered whether we had a good time or not. Although seemingly helpful, the duty manager was dead set on diffusing the situation by dealing with the whole experience via email. We were offered prosecco as an apology for the abysmal turnout of Ball guests. This was an absolute disaster of an evening and we feel that we have had our New Year Celebration stolen from us. Guess What? Although I emailed them 10 days ago, we still haven't received a phone call, or apology. If you want to have a good time, STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    155
    64
    43
    35
See reviews for
94
336
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at The Lazy Cow for one night this Thursday. After reading some of the trip advisor reviews we were hesitant about staying, but I am so glad we decided to go there! The hotel is full of character and charm, inside an incredible old 14th century building the rooms are extremely quirky and fun, not to mention the wibbly-wobbly stairs to get to them. We stayed in the black and gold room which was fabulous, the room was clean and full of goodies, a whole range of teas, a nespresso machine, lovely toiletries, towels and sweets. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and were impressed by the attention to detail that the lazy cow provided.

Our room was huge, there was room for a king size bed a desk a wonderful flat screen tv and side tables, wardrobes built into the eaves. The bathroom was enormous, the power shower was exactly what we needed after a long journey along with the enormous tub which is wonderful to relax in.

The hotel is very old and is full of charm and character with wooden beams and wonky flooring, if you are looking for aircon look elsewhere but pause to think if going for a mainstream airconditioned room is really going to give you the real experience of staying in Salisbury because the lazy cow certainly will.

We had a breakfast in the morning down in the restaurant, the restaurant is kitted out perfectly for its steakhouse theme and looks extremely smart. The breakfast was fantastic, my partner is vegetarian and asked for them to provide a vegetarian meal which they did gladly, it was really well laid out. The continental side of the breakfast was charming with small milk bottles instead of jugs, jars for honey, peanut butter, Nutella and marmite made it more exciting that your normal mainstream breakfast.

A lot of the reviews have complained about the noise however we were right on the front road in room 14 and I could hear no noise, it was very quiet and very warm with adequate heating rough out the room. Some reviews have moaned about pigeons, yes I could hear pigeons again I think this adds to the charm of staying somewhere old. I'm not sure a hotel should be rated on pigeon noise anyway!!

Overall this hotel was a fantastic experience, I loved every minute and I am very glad that we did not opt for a plain and mainstream hotel with aircon and no pigeons! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, the service is brilliant, the rooms are fun and the overall experience will leave you with memories.

Many thanks to the lazy cow team!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gablaar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great staff, fabulous quirky room with beams, high quality teas and a coffee machine, huge bathroom, large bath, everything you could wish for and lovely breakfast too. Definitely very highly recommended. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aakkjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night for a side trip to Stonehenge. Wonderful location near the impressive Salisbury Cathedral. We had a terrific dinner at the pub and enjoyed the fire and ambiance. The hotel is very old and quirky which lends a certain charm.

The restaurant menu had a great quote that made us smile: 'If you have a beef with us, tell us, not Trip Advisor.'

Room Tip: Room 5 was large and comfortable for my family of 3. However, be prepared for noise from the pub and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jray_Denver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Provided an excellent service, couldn't do enough for us even though they were getting ready for the new year ball! Lovely quirky room and great location. Nice atmosphere in the bar. Will be staying again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on the way from Devon to Kent on a very rainy night. Was great to find a beautiful old pub that has been sympathetically renovated. Our room was cosy and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was fantastic! Must admit we got a very good rate through Laterooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baharini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Work meal, five people, Thursday night. Great food, lovely steak etc but service was slow given that the restaurant was probably half full at most. The drinks service from the table was very slow even for a round of standard drinks never mind the cocktails! Can't fault the food but they were a couple of staff short of decent service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damo_M_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Property: The Chapter House
Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing