We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Quirky”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #6 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed one night and would agree with other reviews. THe staff were all polite and friendly. The room was brilliant with lots of features however the lamp was broken, the tiles were cracked and side panel was coming away from the bath. The service in the restaurant was slow both for dinner in the evening and again at breakfast however the Chateaubriand was so tender and tasy everything else didn't matter. The toiletries were also good and we did have hot water.

Room Tip: We had the moo room at the front which is big and has a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Moochele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We really wanted to love this place, and there was lots to admire: the decor was quirky, the staff were genuinely friendly and breakfast was good.

The place genuinely just needs to be taken in hand. Some basic maintenance issues need dealing with (cracked tiles, loose door handle in room, shower curtain just turning mouldy, lime scale on shower head) and the service, though friendly, is slow and disorganised (a 40 minute wait for breakfast is just too long). The whole place, though not dirty by any means, just didn't quite feel clean.

I really hope that they do sort it out, because it could be really great. Hope the owners/management read these comments and take it in hand...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank B_from_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

When we first stayed at this hotel with our company, we really did enjoy the boutique style & quirky rooms, the breakfast and restaurant, but due to the familiar tone and unacceptable behavior towards female staff, we'll not stay here again. Although a complaint was raised twice with the young management, no action were taken nor any apologies given, and for that reason.... We're out! The restaurant provides good enough food, but service has been extremely slow during all our visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natasja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best part of the stay was the breakfast - lots to choose from and the cooked breakfast was freshly prepared. The room was spacious, but dark & dusty. Problem with hot water - as others have said - we only stayed 1 night, which was just as well, because the water never got hot, only warm at best. Staff very polite, and tried to be helpful. Can't help but think that the lazy cow requires a little TLC. Really liked the quirkiness of the old building!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryS_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were notified by The Lazy Cow, a couple of hours before arrival, that due to a plumbing problem, our room was no longer available and that they had found us alternative accommodation at a near by b&b. As we were driving down the M25 at the time, we weren't left with a lot of option to find something ourselves at such such short notice, especially over a bank holiday weekend. The alternative accommodation wasn't what we had wanted at all (small airless cramped room with no space to put up our baby's travel cot) but we were left with nowhere to go. As a sweetener, The Lazy Cow offered us a complimentary breakfast, which we took up. But the food was disappointly poor and took ages to arrive. The staff at The Lazy Cow seem very inexperienced and they weren't a visible presence at any time that we were there.
Can't tell you what the rooms are like as we never got to see ours!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Moojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Once you have checked in to The Lazy Cow you are met with the most uneven stairs, which leave you feeling a little lightheaded before you have even tested the alcohol and are a significant obstacle the morning after the night before.
The cow themed rooms are amusing with their cow print bed and chairs, framed pictures of various cattle, milk bottle decorated chandelier and feature wall adorned with a solitary highland cow and the black and white tiled en-suite carries on this theme. Even the ironing board is cow print. Comfortable bed complete with leather headboard, however the imposing cow gives the impression he is staring at you no matter where you are in the room. Fine selection of tea but no coffee in the room. Decent sized flat screen TV, well heated and a powerful shower. Not for guests demanding the best but a great place to stay if you are looking for the unusual

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kellyc13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Even as I write this, I feel guilty. The staff were overall lovely and attentive. They tried their best.

The positives:

The room (5) was a great size. The bar and restaurant were nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was also good. The staff were polite and cheery. They tried hard to run the hotel and pub.

The negatives:

The hotel floor was dirty, the carpets desperately needed a good vacuum. The room had a filthy coffee table and everywhere needed polishing. The lights had only 40% working, even after we asked for bulbs they didn't have any. The bathroom needed grouting and the light didn't turn on properly. Reception was often unattended and there wasn't any clear sign how to get some assistance when this occurred. The outside area where you enter the reception was littered with cigarette ends. It was incredibly noisy at night (2.30-3am) people outside in the garden swearing.

All in all, the main issue is that there was no one who seemed to be in control. The staff were all young and seemed inexperienced. They need some guidance and management. Cleanliness in a potentially great hotel is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £110 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing