We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pint”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #5 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good pint”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Only went in for a few drinks with friends and it had a nice atmosphere and they do nice ale, very friendly staff , really nice old building with a lot of character and it is very close to a number of other pubs and all the shops if there in the day. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank therams_1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    150
    63
    43
    35
See reviews for
92
322
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My boyfriend kindly whisked me away for a lovely birthday treat and thought he had booked a lovely place, shame it did not live up to the hype. We would class ourselves as people who usually stay in places at the cheaper end of the market so we have stayed in some rather interesting places but you get what you pay for! This was set to be a bit nicer than our usual accommodation. When we arrived in our room it was an extremely hot day and the room was unbearable. It is a lovely old building so you can put up with a few grumbles, however a lot of the light bulbs had blown and were not replaced in both the room and the bathroom. The shower..well don't get me started, the plug socket moved when I tried to take a plug out to charge some things, the carpet was terribly stained, the alarm clock went off at 6.05 (not appreciated!!) but on the plus side breakfast was excellent! I would not recommend The Lazy Cow :-(

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Modern room while still keeping the atmosphere. Very nice with a Nespresso machine in the room!
Great location in the center of town near to the Cathederal.
Decent breakfast(we only had what was included)
Restaurant had rather nice Steaks and burgers.
Beds were ok.
We visited Stonehenge the day after and it is about 25 minutes drive from the hotel if you start as we did around 8:45
Salisbury is a very nice town to walk around in alse we felt (having just one night here felt almost to short)

On the negative side (minors mainly)
As we were travelling with two children we would expect water and glases for all of us not just for two (as there was water provided)
Somewhat expensive parking via the next door hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, Bucks
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The city was busy on a hot and sunny day so we took a side exit from the Cathedral grounds and happened across The Lazy Cow - and really pleased we did! We sat outside - sadly no shaded tables but we were able to sit under the coach arch on astroturf (!) which completely confused our dog.

We just had soft drinks and a one course lunch but the service was friendly and the food was amazing. My mum had the scallop special of the day which was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. My husband and I both had chicken burger and it was possibly the best one I have ever had - and came with award winning chips (if I gave awards ...).

Delighted to have found this as a lunch spot - interiors looked stylish but can't comment on the bedrooms as we didn't stay,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from a night at the Lazy Cow and i must say I wouldn't hesitate to return, the hotel itself is a period building full of character and quirks, the rooms have been done up very nicely though ours was a little tired now and could do with some freshening up, that said the facilities where good and we slept very well.

The biggest plus for us was the food, we had a meal as well as breakfast and the quality was fantastic, if your a meat lover then you've died and gone to heaven, the breakfast was top notch with proper butchers sausages and dry cured bacon. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful though I did feel they could have done with another pair of hands at breakfast but again any requests where promptly met with a smile.

Room Tip: A meal from the grill is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrik1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay at the Lazy Cow was somewhat of a rollercoaster: For every good thing that we experienced we also found something else that was, well, not so good... Unfortunately, there were too many negative impressions so that in the end we were left with an overall feeling of disappointment - especially after we had arrived with the high expectations raised by the attractively designed hotel website.

Plus points
- Nicely refurbished old building with delightfully crooked stairways and narrow corridors
- A working Nespresso machine in the room
- Nice smell of wood in the room (we had the Log Shack, I believe it was room 12)
- Good breakfast

Negative points
- When we arrived 3 unsavoury looking individuals were hanging around in the garden restaurant / entrance area
- A big ugly stain on the carpet in our room
- One of the two nightlamps broken
- 2 spotlight lamps in the main room and 1 spotlight lamp in the bathroom broken
- Nespresso machine is leaking water onto the desk and carpet (of course we discovered this too late to completely prevent the leakage)
- Lid of trashcan in main room is broken
- Shower heads badly scaled
- Bathroom ventilator is always running, we had to climb up to turn it off manually
- Very busy street outside with a lot of loud traffic noise (engines revving up in the night, in the morning parking coaches that let the motor run for long times), making it almost impossible to sleep in the morning
- Various things on the breakfast menu not available, including pancakes and baked beans (how on earth can you run out of a staple food like baked beans?)
- Reception not occupied half the time - including when we departed

All of these things are, on their own, not too terrible. But if you encounter them ALL in one place, they combine to an overall feeling of carelessness and neglectfulness. This is even more grave in light of the fact that the Lazy Cow is not a cheap accomodation (it's more expensive, for instance, than a 4-star hotel we booked in Exeter).

Conclusion: We would not recommend the Lazy Cow to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank herzbube102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Housekeeping and maintenance are clearly not a priority here. We had to be moved from room 4 because it was tiny and dirty. Rom 5 is a better shape but still had multiple issues. The bathroom is dirty. The shower head doesn't work and the coffee machine is broken. Since we arrived yesterday the halls haven't been hoovered and they are very dirty! The view onto the flat roof is disgusting with dirt and mess just left lying about. Impossible to open the curtains without the whole world seeing in. Needs to raise the game.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Property: The Chapter House
Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing