We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down place. Terrible organisation and bad rooms”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #5 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Run down place. Terrible organisation and bad rooms”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Unfortunately I have to say that this place has lost its attraction and is completely run down by management. The rooms are in very bad condition and very dirty. The springs came through the mattress, bath is disgusting. Mold everywhere, bath panel came off and tab of the sink was leaking.
Had to dust the bed side tables to put anything on there.On our first night I ordered Rump Steak and although it was the beginning Bank holiday weekend they didn't planned as you would expect and the was no rump steak available already! on out last night on Sunday they closed the pub and bar at 21:30 already!!! No more drinks for all staying guests! This is a joke! On Monday morning we tried to order the protein Breakfast which should be a slim steak with spinach. Again no steak available. Don't call your place a steakhouse if you can't provide the steaks. After staying there a couple of times I have to say this place became so bad now that we will not come back and waste 120 GBP per night for very poor service, very poor organisation and I would fire the breakfast staff for being absolutely grumpy. You do not feel welcome at all. One good thing I have to say. The staff on Saturday night was brill and helped us a lot with our baby and the food. Other than that this place is something to avoid, absolutely disappointing!

Room Tip: Don't book in the lacy cow. Go to the White Heart hotel next doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    152
    64
    43
    35
See reviews for
93
327
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room was surprisingly big, both the bedroom and the bathroom. Notwithstanding, there was a constant dripping sound throughout the night which kept us awake. This was easily sorted by opening the window (which might not be a good idea if it's cold outside). There was no Nespresso machine in the bedroom, as promised, but the bed, towels, etc were very nice. The hotel is cosy and quirky, the staff is friendly. The biggest issue was that the restaurant closed by 7pm and the bar closed by 9pm, which is very awkward if you want to socialize, especially considering that Salisbury doesn't really have much around to do after dinner. The breakfast was incomplete most of the time, with a lot of the complimentary items missing (basic stuff such as jam and coffee mugs), albeit you could order food from the menu (which was paid). Overall, we enjoyed our stay, the hotel itself was very welcoming and definitely one of the coolest hotels in Salisbury. Location wise, was very close to the cathedral, which is the main attraction, and a five minute walk from the city center. Also, the only corner shop that exists in town is allocated in the very same street. Great place, but the small issues mentioned above could be improved and the hotel could be even better.

Room Tip: Room 14 had a dripping sound noise from the rain, make sure it doesn't wake you up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucostadasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location being in the heart of Salisbury. Greeted by a warm welcome and shown to out room. Few weird things with the room, iron provided was broken (prong missing on the plug), no hot water either and only upon telling a member of staff of these issues was I told that the water takes 20 minutes to warm up. Should have been told on arrival. Otherwise the iron was promptly replaced. Ate there for dinner too and was immediately told that we had to hurry up and order, odd. When we ordered a bottle of red wine the waitress told us to serve ourselves as the chef needed her. Food was otherwise delicious. Overall a lovely hotel with great potential but the staff need to take pride in what they do and keep on top of things like room amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great room, brilliant interior -fun & funky combined with old school character.
The room I stayed in was huge, and had so many wonderful treats/coffee/types of tea etc
The shower was powerful and the soaps/shampoo was high quality
Breakfast was A1

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DShan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is an amazing hotel. We visited Salisbury for a wedding so we had limited time in the hotel, but our time there was very good. Our "room" had a bedroom, sitting room and a huge bathroom. It had a great TV, tea making facilities and a very posh coffee machine. Breakfast was very good. The staff were very good and very attentive. Check-in was not until 3 o'clock, but we needed to change for the wedding. We made an arrangement before our arrival, and our room was made available early, which was excellent.

If you want a modern hotel - then do not come here. If you want interesting, quaint, old - then you are onto a winner!

Was it all good? No. On arrival the reception is through a court yard which was rather untidy and suffered very badly from pigeons, and pigeon poo! Others may not walk through the court yard to the reception, and then onto an excellent experience. But this is the only area that I would recommend changing.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building, but rooms onto the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The lazy cow has it all; great rooms, comfortable and tastfull decorated, a nice restaurant and bar with frienly staff. We arrived " by accident" on the last night of a 15 day roundtrip, lazy cow was the best stay we had.

Room Tip: We stayed in a black and white room with "live size" cow pictures on the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henksys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Only went in for a few drinks with friends and it had a nice atmosphere and they do nice ale, very friendly staff , really nice old building with a lot of character and it is very close to a number of other pubs and all the shops if there in the day. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank therams_1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Property: The Chapter House
Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing