We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lazy Cow Restaurant - CLOSED

The Lazy Cow Restaurant
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Grill, Contemporary, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tidworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Quite frankly the worst eating experience I've ever had. Duck cottage pie that was so small, the duck must have served 5 years in a North Korean detention centre. The side dish minuscule. The only thing big was the price. Certainly put me off dessert. Just made it to the chippy in tidworth as I was ravenous. Overpriced and pretentious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    56
    46
    48
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Ok, but pricey.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A fair range of food on the menu, given that it sells itself as a steak joint. Pretty good portions and tasty.

Service generally friendly but a bit lacklustre. Had to keep flagging waitresses down to get more drinks, etc. and no real interest in whether we were enjoying our meal.

Quite surprised that a meal for two adults and a child came to £95.

Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We've eaten and stayed here before and were disappointed to see that the quality of food has gone downhill. We ordered steaks (the main focus of the menu) which were chewy and not cooked medium rare as requested. Corn on the cob was also over cooked, chips were from the freezer and the peppercorn sauce was made from a packet. At around £25 for the basic steak dish (sides were £3.50 extra each) I expect more effort and better quality fare. This, including some salad garnish, was all served from a luke warm skillet- an utterly pointless touch. We'll be back to drink here as the surroundings are pleasant and relaxing but not to eat. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Lunchtime Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A friend and I dined here at his impromptu suggestion and what a result! The restaurant was fairly quiet and we had the pick of the tables choosing a window view of the world as it passed by. We both love our food and it took some time to choose which of the many steaks to go for but eventually settled on the crab cake starters for both of us, a 10oz Argentinian sirloin for me (cooked medium) and an 8oz Argentinian rib-eye for my mate. It would have been nice to have enjoyed the food with a nice red wine but we both had to drive and didn't bother to see if there was a wine list because of this.

We both agreed that the crab starter was delicious. Served with pickled ginger and a wasabi cream - with a very mild hint of wasabi for anyone concerned it'll knock your socks off - and a soy sauce and sesame oil dip the flavours were fantastic together. There were three cakes on the plate which may sound like a small portion, but it was just enough and every mouthful was divine.

Onto the main event. Both steaks were perfectly cooked and the chef had seared the edges to ensure a nice crisp texture. The quality of the meat was excellent and there is nothing more to say than both steaks were delicious. Served with chunky steakhouse chips, half a bulb of roasted garlic (cooked like this it loses its natural pungency and takes on a sweet flavour) and a cob of flame grilled sweetcorn the portion size was spot-on. We both opted for an added 'surf' option of chilli prawns which were served alongside the plate on a platter and which consisted of perfectly cooked prawns in a sweet chilli sauce very similar to the Encona brand sauce in supermarkets. The only negative comment is that the meal came to it's ultimate conclusion and there was nothing left to eat!

I've enjoyed Argentinian beef in Argentina and the steaks we ordered tasted as good as any I remember from my trip to the country. I also gained the impression that the restaurant chooses beef from sources where the cattle are given higher welfare farming and there's an increasing train of thought that this is important for the overall flavour. Its another tick for the restaurant if their beef does come from higher welfare sources and I'm aware of a farm in North Yorkshire that does this - is it coincidence that the menu states that the Longhorn beef they source comes from a farm in North Yorks then? I hope they do and it's not a line to make diners feel that is the case and, if the beef is coming from higher welfare sources, top marks the The Lazy Cow for getting on board.

In a word we both felt the food we devoured was fantastic. Would I go again? You bet!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanky_lanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Thirst quenching stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a refreshing drink on a hot spring afternoon. Our first visit here, and second to a Lazy Cow after Warwick, and we were impressed. Perfect service from a very polite, helpful young man and decent value drinks made for a relaxing place to stop.

Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lazy Cow Restaurant also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing