We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its true they cook to your way or liking............”
Review of The Stag - CLOSED

The Stag
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The new concept in casual dining and refreshments. Whether you’d like a coffee and a danish, a glass of wine or lager, something more substantial at a table or just a snack on your knee, just relax and enjoy your surroundings. Enjoy the comfort, the attentive staff, but most of all the really good food and drink.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its true they cook to your way or liking............”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My sister kindly booked the table, 2 birthdays and a wedding aniversay to celebrate. 6 of us in total, 2 who had walking sticks, and we needed a bit of space. Which we were given. Great seating which we were very happy with

When it came to the food we all had different ideas of what to eat. In fact we ordered 4 different main courses and they were delivered to the table at the same time - piping hot and not only that - Im allergic to garlic and was desperate to have the green lipped mussels - which usually come in a garlic sauce - the chef proved the food is "cooked just for you" I could not stop smiling when brought to the table "mussels no garlic" OMG they were the best mussels ive eaten in a very longtime, big green lipped, yummmm. The men worked their way through pork and chicken and homely steak pudding.....Everyone strugggled to choose just one item from the menu which is very sensibly priced, shame we couldn't have all shared, but I would have kept my mussels just for me!

The Stag has a homely comfortable feel, you feeel like you are in someone's home, no standing on ceremony and quiet discreet service, nothing is too much trouble and if you are just going to read the paper and drink coffee, and indulge in some sort of cake or sweet.

Whatever you do - slow down, turn left or right depending on which way you are travelling and dont miss the Stag , will certainly return and recommend.

Thank you for making us feel very welcome, and that nothing was any trouble.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaiboohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Guilty Pleasure....”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A second trip to the Stag - and it did not disappoint - the food was amazing - Karen's (the owner) knowledge of her wines and beers is great and the menu is fab. There was something for everyone.

There were 6 of us, 2 of which were young ladies sporting walking sticks - when I booked the table I had asked to be seated tucked away so as the girls would not be in the way once they had sat down and Karen kindly obliged.

When it came to the food we all had different ideas of what to eat. In fact we ordered 4 different main courses and they were delivered to the table at the same time - piping hot and not only that - my sister who is allergic to garlic was desperate to have the green lipped mussels - which usually come in a garlic sauce - the chef proved the food is "cooked just for you" as my sister could not stop smiling when true to her word Karen brought to the table "mussels no garlic" The boys worked their way through pork and chicken and homely steak pudding.....though truth of the matter was they strugggled to choose just one item from the menu which is very sensibly priced.

The Stag has a homely comfortable feel, you feeel like you are in someone's home, no standing on ceremony and quiet discreet service, nothing is too much trouble and if you are just going to read the paper and drink coffee I am sure there is a piece of "Lumpy Bumpy" with your name on it!.

Whatever you do - slow down, turn left or right depending on which way you are travelling and dont miss the Stag - check out my guilty pleasure........

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Visited The Stagg today during a trip to the New Forest with my elderly In-laws. We had not checked Trip Advisor in advance and decided to take our chances. It can be difficult to find a suitable venue that caters for all ages and has wheelchair access. We need not have worried as The Stagg was a great choice. My Father in law found access to the Stag quite easy in his wheelchair and staff were very helpful. Inside everything was modern, light and airy with plenty of room between tables..The menu had a good selection to chose from and reasonably priced. We were more than happy with our meals - food was very tasty and plentiful, all followed up with some very good coffee. Staff made us feel welcome and service was good.
We would certainly visit again in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A- Near Miss”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stopped off friday Aug 1st, we nearly missed it because of lots of traffic behind me,so i had to stop really quickly to get into the entrance, and i am pleased that we did, what a up market restaurant & cafe combination, everything we could wish for on a break from Worc's to Bournemouth ,spotlessly clean,staff excellent,food superb,the atmosphere in the building was of relaxation & friendlyness, certainly a good venue for meeting up with friends & family

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raytaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had several meals there now. Always very nice, (esp steak and kidney pudding - lovely), well cooked, fresh, good value (specials are dearer but worth the xtra) and very pleasant staff. Can be busy so might pay to book a table. Would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank salisburybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stag also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing