We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great visit worth every penny.

Me and my partner loved this. One of the nicest homes we have visited. The art work is fantastic... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2021
mattpX2777PL
,
United Kingdom
A wonderful home

This house has many items accumulated by Sir Edward Heath, who was a Prime Minister from 1970 to... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2021
Mave1944
via mobile
Read all 338 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salisbury
Circle tours
1 Review
from US$147.83
More Info
from US$306.00
More Info
from US$347.17
More Info
from US$254.71
More Info
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
252
67
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
67
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sir edward heath his life prime minister beautiful house well worth a visit dinner party interesting visit national trust visiting salisbury skiing ted statesman collection trustees insight photographs yacht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We chose a Wednesday to visit and paid the little extra to have a guided tour. We were the only 2 on our tour and it was the first of the day, so it was very personal and Michael the guide was excellent.The house, gardens and setting are beautiful and worth visiting alone. Ted Heath's history and life is fascinating and quite unexpected.

Date of experience: August 2018
4  Thank EricBuffal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We wanted to visit here but on the days we were in Salisbury the house was not open. We had to look through the gates. A great pity!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank JAA_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Superb,friendly and knowledgeable Stewards? Very eclectic mix of artefacts etc. wallpaper at top of stairs particularly good (Monkey!)

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank garyeggchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

This was a highlight of of our visit to Salisbury; as interesting in its own way the majestic cathedral. The house is pretty much as Sir Edward Heath left it, though tidied up A bit I’m sure. His imprint is still clearly visible on the cushion of his favourite chair where he’d read the newspapers every day. The rooms are filled with a remarkable collection of artwork, models of his beloved yachts and mementos collected over a lifetime in politics and of international travel. There are paintings by Winston Churchill and a fabulous intricately carved ivory tusk which was a gift from China, among many other things. They tell the story of a complex man of remarkably broad interests and one whose experiences in conflict had a profound effect on his politics. They also portray a man who could come across as distant, was obviously deeply admired and respected by his friends and those he met.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank rmhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Heath was a modern day polymath. History will judge his political life but you cannot but admire his achievements as a yachtsman, musician and artist. House week preserved as He lived in it and guides in each room are well worth listening to.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews