We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great visit worth every penny.

Me and my partner loved this. One of the nicest homes we have visited. The art work is fantastic... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2021
mattpX2777PL
,
United Kingdom
A wonderful home

This house has many items accumulated by Sir Edward Heath, who was a Prime Minister from 1970 to... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2021
Mave1944
via mobile
Read all 338 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salisbury
Circle tours
1 Review
from US$147.83
More Info
from US$306.00
More Info
from US$347.17
More Info
from US$254.71
More Info
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
252
67
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
67
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sir edward heath his life prime minister beautiful house well worth a visit dinner party interesting visit national trust visiting salisbury skiing ted statesman collection trustees insight photographs yacht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

Had a very interesting tour round the house, very interesting insight into the life of a prime minister. We learnt so much about Mr Heath, but would like to have seen more about the full history of the house as well.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank M254FEmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

The tour was very interesting. Our guide was most informative and in addition to learning about Sir Edward Heath and his many accomplishments, the house and gardens were also interesting. Well worth our time.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank 746brucem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

If you visit two places in Cathedral Close (apart from the Cathedral of course), visit Mompesson House and Arundells. Both are historic properties, one linking back to previous generations with fine period furnishings; the other to the end of the 20th century as the home of the Prime Minister Sir Edward Heath, left just as it was when he died in 2005.

The house dates back to the 13th century, though it appearance today is primarily 18th century. Edward Heath moved into it 1985 and it is filled with his personal collection of paintings and items relating to his three passions sailing, music and politics and memories of the wide circle of people he entertained from artists to archbishops; from popstars to policians.

The piano is bursting with photographs of many of the world leaders that Edward Heath met, of which there are further pictures elsewhere, along with gifts that he was given.

There is, of course, a strong yachting theme, with pictures, photographs and trophies, and the corridors are full of original cartoons from his time in Parliament.

At the back of this fascinating house is a beautiful secluded garden running down to the river. You can imagine this as a peaceful haven away from the hurly-burly of Westminster and Downing Street.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Sir Edward Heath was one of the first prime ministers I remembered during my childhood so I was very curious to see Arundells.

We had visited on a Wednesday which meant an organised tour (Sunday through to Tuesday, you can make your own way around the house). The tour guide was very thorough (maybe a little too intense in his descriptions of the paintings, though that is just my opinion of course). He did, however, make the house come alive in many other ways.

I guess it was a particularly apt time to visit, when we remember that Sir Edward was the prime minister to take the UK into the Common Market as it was then and now we have Brexit just around the corner.

What struck us was that Sir Edward's lifestyle is something any PMs in this day and age would no doubt shy away from in the interests of not wanting to seem too extravagant. He was a keen yachtsman (not a cheap hobby), musician and art collector.

We learned of his very ordinary upbringing and I was fascinated how he went from living in a council house with his parents to being able to fund a stately pile such as Arundells!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2019

First visit by my wife and I and we were struck by the helpful and knowledgeable guides. Lots of interest. Lovely garden as well as the house.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Graham0072015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews