We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only gets better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wheatsheaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 264 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Only gets better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spent a very pleasant evening at the Wheatsheaf last Sunday and although we were told that as it was Fathers Day and the restaurant had been busy for hours when we arrived we could see everything was under control and our dinner was excellent and service quick but not rushed.
My family have been quite regular users of this pub and have seen the standard go up and up over the years.
Now with A.J at the head of the team we are sure the overall quality will continue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlie1ornone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    100
    53
    43
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fantastic location, we followed the directions on the pub website and went for a walk, by the time we returned, we needed a meal and a drink.
Food was delivered very quickly, hot and tasteful. The staff are friendly and nothing was too much to ask, we would certainly go back again, have a walk and a bite to eat and drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thanks to Tom at Stonehenge Travelodge Amesbury, we found your restaurant. We had two wonderful meals here on Monday and Tuesday evenings. Due to the wonderful weather we were able to sit in the child friendly garden. The service was excellent and the food lovely, especially the rump steak and the very naughty but nice mini puddings!!
Thank you for making our stay in Wiltshire extra special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Wheatsheaf was recommended to us and we decided to have a family lunch there. We were not disappointed. The quality of the food was very good. There were delicious burgers for the vegetarian members of the party. (There were other vegetarian choices too) The Sunday roasts were excellent and smaller sized meals were also offered. These were the ideal size for us. The service was a little slow and we had to ask for the menus after we had been seated for a little while, but the staff were very friendly and there was a lovely homely feel there. The total bill for our party of 9 was extremely reasonable and excellent value for money. The Wheatsheaf is situated in the glorious Wiltshire countryside and we will certainly visit again when passing that way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmospheres and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place, great food and service. Happened to be here on the Wheatsheafs charity fete day, lovely community feel, very welcoming. Great to see a pub at the centre of the village and part if the community.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

 
Wilton, Salisbury
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing