We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the outside!”

The Boat House Cafe Bar
Ranked #175 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the outside!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Super spot if you sit outside by the Millstream. Delightful and good-humoured staff who demonstrate that they enjoy one's custom and give attentitive, helpful and friendly service, . Varied menu, the dishes are fairly priced and good to eat! From our experience (two visits) we would recommend this one highly and will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxaway46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    53
    32
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed- Will Not Return”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

An evening booking for a group from work. We were in the upstairs room as a private function. The room was too hot and only one sliding window was open....quite uncomfortable.

Either too few serving staff or the kitchen couldn't get all the food prepared, even though we had all pre-ordered, resulting in slow service. Some people had finished their main courses before others had even been served.

Most people were happy with their pasta dishes or burgers. I had ordered a rib-eye steak cooked medium rare, but was very disappointed. It was overcooked and very tough. I sent it back and was served a new steak; this was at least pink in the middle but the quality of the meat was still not very good. And I suspect that the chef had been offended, as this one was so covered in pepper that it overwhelmed any flavour of the meat.

Plenty of better places in Salisbury.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Deserted”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We visited at lunchtime on a Saturday and the place was empty. We arrived just before midday and the waiters first greeting was to look at his watch in a way that implied we were too early. However, he did give us menus and told us to choose whatever table we felt like sitting at. We than had quite a long wait before a waitress came to take our order. She was very pleasant. It was just a pity that the waiter couldn't have shown a bit of customer care and dealt with us himself.
We had the set lunch for £9.95. Our starters were fine. The waiter cleared away our starters , we asked for an apple juice that he then forgot to bring .
Our main courses were all good. Nothing very grand but good value and enjoyable.

The setting is excellent, we sat on the terrace and watched the fish in the river. The overall impression is of a place that needs a bit of attention, it is pretty grubby around the edges.

Despite this this, we would visit again, hoping next time for rather better service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tim252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location on a summers day”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We went to The Boathouse today after finding it on the tastecard app. When we arrived for lunch it was empty but quickly filled up and it was a nice relaxed atmosphere with lots do space in between tables. The service was a bit slow but we didn't mind as we were not in a hurry. We ordered the gammon and the butterfly chicken from the main menu, it was delicious. I could not find fault with it, it was well presented and very tasty. With a tastecard we paid £15 for two large soft drinks and two main meals. We were very impressed. Runs along the river with a glass front to enjoy the views. Will defiantly return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yoggi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to unwind”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

One of our favourite places in Salisbury, in a nice location, next to the river, good food and great service. Prices are ok. We also went to a couple of parties there and had great fun. Try Pollo Elisei ( my husband's favourite)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Boat House Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing