We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

The Stonehenge Tour
Ranked #6 of 20 Tours in Salisbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Journey back in time to discover Stonehenge, probably the most sophisticated stone circle in the world. Our hop-on hop-off tour picks up in Salisbury city centre, Salisbury Railway Station and runs to Old Sarum, through the beautiful Wiltshire countryside to the magnificent, magical henge. Our all inclusive ticket also gives you entry into Salisbury Cathedral and the Magna Carta.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went as a family of four, bought a package for travel to and from London to Stonehenge and Bath included the Stonehenge tour. Great view . It worth to have a trip to it. Our guide was a lovely lady on the coach, Everything was very organised, security and the staff who work at the restaurant were friendly. Worth the tour for £75. From stonehenge we went to Bath as well. that was also a great tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    77
    31
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Having arrived at New Canal Street at 10.30am to ensure we got a good spot on the scheduled 11.12am bus we waited by the bus stop saying 'THE STONEHENGE TOUR'. We were the only ones there. At 11.25am the tour bus arrived and stopped short at the next stop allowing the 20 odd people who arrived after us to get on in front of us. As the bus was already three quarters full we gave up in disgust.

An hour later we stood at the other end of the bus stop, but when the next bus arrived and - surprise, surprise- stopped at the Stonehenge bus stop the reverse situation happened.

At £68 for a family of three it's really not worth the effort.

Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyTraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Tour Company to Work With on the Planet”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were so excited to visit Stonehenge and in the interest of booking the correct tour, I called to speak with them about the service, the refund policy (which is not filled in on their webpage - that page just has Lorem Ipsum text on their unfinished website) and was assured that refunds are required by law in the UK. We purchased the tickets and then shortly realized we wouldn't be able to make it all work. We asked for a refund within 12 hours of the purchase. We have called, emailed, called, emailed, etc. and haven't heard back from a living soul. When I call, I am given numbers to call that are not even working numbers. They charged us for the tour, so they have that part of their company working well, but the customer service side doesn't seem to exist. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this company due to their lack of responsiveness and lack of customer service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hncbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beware..”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

...be warned. If going to Old Sarum, do be warned that they will not tell you that the Old Sarum shuts at 5pm, so you will not be allowed to visit it on the 440pm bus back from the henge. They take your money, they charge 26 pounds each for the tour, which takes in the henge and Old Sarum. They will try to avoid taking you to Old Sarum, flying down country lanes as if there is no tomorrow, silencing the audio as it mentions old sarum, cynically failing to inform you that the sarum will not be visited after 1640. Why can they not let you know?
They claim you dont pay for old sarum but only claim that to be the case when , upset by not being able to see old sarum, you email them asking why you arent told when leaving henge on bus at 440 that n oold sarum visit is possible. It is not good, they say it to cover their tracks after the event. I sent 2 emails, it took them 8 days t oget back to me. Rubbish..please avoid.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank travellling1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very informative and handy if you don't have a car”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The tour starts from outside the trainstation which is really handy if you don;t have a car. The tour was good value and you can buy your ticket to include enterance to Stonehenge which is a short 30 minute ride away. The bus offers great views of the local area and has an audible commentry in English to let you know what you are seeing. The tour runs every 40 mins so is very handy and takes you all the way to the visitors centre. Definatly worth a trip if you are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stonehenge Tour also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Stonehenge Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing